1896 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence: ,

Berel BRYKMAN

The image on the left is a French translation of the marriage certificate of Berel and Hela.  We do not have a photograph of them, unfortunately.

 

Berel Brykman was born in Warsaw on December 2, 1896. His first names were registered as Isuchor Ber. His parents were Juda-Lejba Brykman and Tauba Frandla, whose maiden name was Przygoda. He had two older brothers, Josek and Mosek Brykman. Berel worked as a tailor. In 1932, when the Polish police accused him of falsifying documents, he declared that he owned a workshop.

On September 9, ‘ 1931 he married Hela Marjan, daughter of Chaim Josek Marjan and Chena Marjan, née Staroświecka. In June 1932, his first daughter Henriette was born. In the same year the Brykman family was living in Warsaw at 6, Górczewska (apartment no. 11), and later moved to an apartment at 1, Przebieg Street (apartment no. 90).

According to a document in the Polish police archives, the Brykmans moved to Paris in January 1934. In the French police records, we find their address: 18, rue Pierre-Levée. It also states that Berel had three children: Henriette, born on June 2, 1932, Thérèse, born on November 2, 1937, and Georges, born on April 27, 1940.

Berel was arrested by the Gestapo on August 21, 1940 on the basis that he was a Jew. However, records show that he was a Uruguayan citizen (having been naturalized), which is quite surprising given that there is nothing to suggest that he had ever actually been to Uruguay in his life. Berel was released on June 9, 1942, presumably thanks to his Uruguayan nationality. In January 1943 he was arrested again and sent to the Compiegne camp, then he was interned in Drancy and deported to Auschwitz on July 31, 1944 on Convoy 77. Some documents state that he died on July 31, 1944, while others give the date of death as August 5, 1944 in Auschwitz

After Berel and his wife were deported, Léopold Baver took care of the Brykman children. They lived with him at 6, rue Pasteur, in Paris.

In a letter dated 1946, a Mrs. Genevelle, who was described as the children’s guardian, informed the police that the orphans did not know the dates of birth of their parents and were unable to help the police in their research into them.

On May 23, 1949, Thérèse was mentioned in the records of the Commission Centrale Pour l’Enfance (Central Commission for Childhood) as having won the first prize in a regional essay contest. She was registered as a student at the High school for girls in Aix-les-Bains, in the Rhone-Alpes region of France. However, other than this snippet of information, there is no trace of Therese in the records.

On July 12, 1962, Henriette is mentioned in the files of the French police, who were still researching the deportees and people who went missing during the war.

 

This biography was written during the winter semester 2018/2019 at the French High School in Warsaw by a 12th grade student, Mercedes Agomar de Sagarra Żbikowska.

 

 

Contributor(s)

Mercedes Agomar de Sagarra Żbikowska, 12th grade student at the French High school in Warsaw, Poland.
1 Comment
  1. klejman laurence 5 months ago

    Berel a été arrêté une première fois le 21 août 1941 (et non 40) sur “la voie publique et dirigé sur le camp de Drancy”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Berel BRYKMAN

1896 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: ,

Berel Brykman

L’image ci-contre est la traduction en français de l’acte de mariage de Berel et de Hela, nous n’avons malheureusement pas de photographie.

 

Berel Brykman est né à Varsovie le 2 décembre 1896 sous le prénom d’Isuchor Ber. Ses parents étaient Juda-Lejba Brykman et Tauba Frandla dont le nom de jeune fille était Przygoda. Il avait deux frères aînés, Josek et Mosek Brykman. Berel travaillait comme tailleur, en 1932 il est accusé de falsification de documents par la police polonaise et déclare alors qu’il est propriétaire d’une fabrique.

Le 9 septembre 1931 il se marie avec Hela Marjan, fille de Chaim Josek Marjan et Chena Marjan (nom de jeune fille Staroświecka). En juin 1932, naît sa première fille, Henriette. La même année la famille Brykman habite à Varsovie au numéro 6 de la rue Górczewska (appartement n° 11), puis elle déménage dans un appartement au numéro 1 de la rue Przebieg (appartement n° 90).

D’après un document des archives de la police polonaise, les Brykman déménagent en janvier 1934 à Paris. Dans les documents de la police française on retrouve leur adresse, 18 rue Pierre-Levée. Il est aussi écrit que Berel avait alors trois enfants : Henriette, née le 2 juin 1932, Thérèse, née le 2 novembre 1937 et Georges, né le 27 avril 1940.

Berel est arrêté par la Gestapo le 21 août 1940 au motif d’être Juif, néanmoins on remarque qu’il a la nationalité uruguayenne (il a été naturalisé), ce qui est assez surprenant étant donné qu’il n’y a pas de documents qui pourraient montrer qu’il a réellement été en Uruguay à un moment quelconque de sa vie. Berel a été relâché le 9 juin 1942 sûrement grâce à sa nationalité uruguayenne, en janvier 1943 il a été arrêté une nouvelle fois et envoyé au camp de Compiègne, ensuite il a été interné à Drancy et déporté à Auschwitz le 31 juillet 1944 dans le convoi 77. Certains documents disent qu’il est mort le 31 juillet 1944, alors que d’autres donnent comme date de décès le 5 août 1944 à Auschwitz.

Après la déportation de Berel et de sa femme, c’est Léopold Baver qui s’est occupé des enfants Brykman, ils habitaient avec lui 6 rue Pasteur, à Paris.

Dans une lettre de 1946, madame Genevelle, présentée comme tutrice des enfants informe la police que les orphelins ne connaissent pas les dates de naissance de leurs parents et sont incapables d’aider la police à retrouver les déportés.

Le 23 mai 1949, Thérèse est mentionnée dans les documents de la Commission Centrale Pour l’Enfance dans le cadre du premier prix dans un concours de rédaction dans sa région, elle est enregistrée comme élève du Collège de jeunes filles d’Aix-les-Bains (région Rhône-Alpes), après cette courte information Thérèse devient introuvable dans les documents.

Henriette apparaît le 12 juillet 1962 dans les documents de la police française qui continue à chercher les déportés et disparus lors de la guerre.

 

Cette biographie a été rédigée pendant le semestre d’hiver 2018/2019 au Lycée Français de Varsovie par une  élève de Tale L : Mercedes Agomar de Sagarra Żbikowska

77191-BRYKMANN_Isuchor_Ber_21_P_431_461_77191_DAVCC_copyright_4664

Contributeur(s)

Mercedes Agomar de Sagarra Żbikowska, élève de Terminale L au Lycée Français de Varsovie
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?