Esther MANDEL

1900-1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Esther MANDEL

Esther Mandel was born on September 6, 1900 in BORYSLAW, Poland

The Mandel family lived at n° 62 rue Saint-Antoine in the 4th district of Paris. Julien and Esther had two sons, Paul (born in 1922) and Izy (born in 1924), both in Boryslaw, Poland, and three daughters, Annette (1933), Bella (1935), and Monique (1941), born in Paris.

Julien and his sons were arrested in the Vel d’Hiv roundup. Julien was sent to Drancy and deported to Auschwitz in convoy 12 on July 29, 1942. Paul and Izy, respectively 19 and 18 years old, were sent to Pithiviers and then deported to Auschwitz on July 31, 1942. None of them came back.

The three girls, hidden with a family in the Nièvre department, who are counted among the Just, were visited by their mother in January, 1944. Despite being urged to remain in hiding with her daughters, Esther returned to Paris, hoping for news of Julien and their sons. Arrested on July 25, 1944, she was sent to Drancy and deported on July 31, 1944 in convoy 77 to Auschwitz, whence she would not return.

Mandel_Esther

Contributor(s)

Bella Haymann
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Esther MANDEL

1900-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Esther Mandel est née le 6 septembre 1900 à Boryslaw en Pologne.

La famille Mandel vit  au 62 rue Saint Antoine dans le 4e arrondissement de PARIS. Julien et Esther ont deux fils : Paul (né en 1922) ) et Izy (né en 1924), tous les deux nés en Pologne à Boryslaw., et trois filles : Annette (1933), Bella (1935) et Monique (1941) nées en France à Paris.

Julien et ses fils sont arrêtés lors de la rafle du Vel d’Hiv. Julien est envoyé à Drancy puis déporté vers Auschwitz par le convoi n°12 le 29 juillet 1942. Paul et Izy, respectivement 19 et 18 ans, sont envoyés à Pithiviers puis déportés vers Auschwitz le 31 juillet 1942. Ils ne reviendront pas.

Les trois filles, enfants cachées dans la Nièvre, dont la famille d’accueil figure parmi les Justes, ont reçu la visite de leur mère en janvier 1944. Pressée de rester à l’abri auprès de ses filles, Esther est retournée à Paris dans l’attente de nouvelles de Julien et de ses fils. Arrêtée le 25 juillet 1944, elle est envoyée à Drancy puis déportée à Auschwitz le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77 dont elle ne reviendra pas.

Mandel_Esther

Contributeur(s)

Bella Haymann
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?