Simon POLITANSKI

1894 - 1944 | Arrest: | Residence:

Simon POLITANSKI

 

Chia Simon POLITANSKI was born on December 14, 1894 in Muegow, Poland. Other places of birth, such as Onianow, Unejewie, and Unjejow, are also found. The district of Turek is specified. His parents were Schliam Jenkel POLITANSKI and Hanna Riefkin, née FRANKE (deceased in 1929). He lived in France from 1923 on. On February 21, 1929 he married Jeanne HERSCHENBERG, born on June 5, 1899 in Mulhouse. (A marriage contract was established on February 19, 1929 by Paul BIRCKEL, a Mulhouse notary; the marriage certificate is number 111 in the year 1929). She was unemployed at the time. Her parents were Samuel Isaac HERSCHENBERG and Julie ZCKAWICZ. Simon POLITANSKI was a traveling salesman based in Mulhouse; he appears to have worked later as a haberdasher in Clermont-Ferrand. He and his wife had three children:

  • Salomon Léon POLITANSKI, born on November 15, 1929 in Mulhouse
  • Marcel POLITANSKI, born on June 26, 1934 in Mulhouse
  • Blanche POLITANSKI, born on April 1, 1936 in Mulhouse

A residence certificate made out by police chief Charles KLEIN on July 10, 1951 gives the POLITANSKI family’s successive addresses in Mulhouse:

  • 5, rue des Tanneurs, from October 5, 1931 to May 31, 1934
  • 10, rue des Tanneurs, from May 31, 1934 to October 22, 1935
  • 14, rue des Cordiers, from October 22, 1935 to March 14, 1936
  • 5, rue des Fleurs, from March 14, 1936 to September 1, 1939

The POLITANSKI family left Mulhouse on September 1, 1939, first living in La Bourboule (from September 7, 1939 to February 2, 1940) and then settling in Clermont-Ferrand. Two dwellings are known for them in this city: n° 71 rue des Hauts de Saint-André (from February 2, 1940) and then at n°4 rue Villiet during 1940. Simon POLITANSKI’s in-laws, Samuel Isaac HERSCHENBERG and his wife, also lived with them.

Simon POLITANSKI was arrested on June 23, 1944 at his home by the Gestapo and imprisoned in the barracks of the 92nd infantry regiment. His wife managed to escape. When she returned to her apartment on August 10th she found that it had been plundered. The loss was estimated at 128,725 francs, including notably the theft of a wallet containing 100,000 francs.

A note issued by the city hall of Clermont-Ferrand on October 4, 1946 and recopied on the 21st, states :

After his arrest in Clermont-Feraand, Simon POLITANSKI was interned in Vichy, then transferred on July 15, 1944 to the camp at Drancy. He was deported on the 31st of the same month to Auschwitz, where he died at the beginning of August.

  • The official certificate of Simon POLITANSKI’s disappearance was definitively established on December 25, 1946 (n° 30 847) further to the procedures undertaken by his wife in September.
  • He was denied the mention “Died for France”. His French citizenship could apparently not be proved. In addition, a note established by the Clermont-Ferrand city hall on October 4, 1946 stipulates that, “POLITANSKI Surion(sic), born on December 14, 1894, lived in Clermont-Ferannd from 1940 and was a refugee from Mulhouse. This Jew was considered to be a usurer in his neighborhood. During his residence in Clermont-Ferrand POLITANSKI’s behavior attracted no unfavorable notice. With respect to the nation his attitude seems to have been correct.
  • On March 31, 1948 the head of the department of Dossiers on Political Deportees (Ministry of Veterans and Victims of War, Puy-de-Dôme departmental administration, Gribeauval neighborhood) delivered to Jeanne POLITANSKI (residing at n° 4 rue Villiet) a certificate that allowed her to receive her husband’s captivity pay, since he had “not returned as of this day”. Two people confirmed his disappearance: Madame FRIEDER and Monsieur SPIBER.
  • Simon POLITANSKI’s death certificate was finally copied into the record on September 9, 1949 on the civil status register of the city of Clermont-Ferrand (transcription n° 64).
  • On September 12, 1953 the Ministry for War Veterans and Victims (Strasbourg interdepartmental delegation) awarded him the status of “political deportee”. Two periods were taken into account: a period of incarceration (June 23 – July 31, 1944) and the period of his deportation (August 1 – August 5, 1944). Testifying on their honor, Flore DREYFUSS of Strasbourg on Decemeber 18, 1951 and Esther ZOBERMANN (also of Strasbourg, but born on May 21, 1926 in Belfort) on January 20, 1953 declared having had knowledge of the arrest and deportation of POLITANSKI Simon (…) for reasons of race.
  • Simon POLITANSKI’s Certificate of Incarceration is n° 64 709; it was requested in 1956 by the Service International de Recherches (through the representation of Simon POLITANSKI’s widow’s lawyer, L. SCHENKEL, 411 rue du Vieux Marché aux Vins in Strasbourg). She was living at that time in Strasbourg.

NOTE: Two uncles are mentioned — Samuel SPITLBERG in Paris’s 18th district and Aron POLITANSKI. The two oldest children immigrated to Buenos Aires, Argentina to be with the latter.

Sources consulted in the Puy-de-Dôme departmental archives:

68 W 34, 145 W 27, 277 W 99, 277 W 104-105-106-113-115, 368 W51, 900 W 63, 902 W 376, 908 W 192, 1570 W 2-3-5

Cf. https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=JORFTEXT000000204078&dateTexte= (Arrêté du 3 novembre 1997 portant apposition de la mention « Mort en déportation » sur les actes et jugements déclaratifs de décès)

Research carried out by 11th-grade students of the Ambroise Brugière high school in Clermont-Ferrand (Allan Bulidon, Célia Couleaud, Vincent Debray, Léa Dexarcis, Clotilde Fernez, Mathilde Grivel, Clément Haffner) under the supervision of Monsieur Frédéric Jarrousse (history and geography teacher) 2016 -2017 school year

Politanski Simon Chia DAVCC Decision

Contributor(s)

M. Frédéric Jarrousse (professeur d’histoire-géographie) et des élèves de sa classe de 1re ES1 du Lycée Ambroise Brugière de Clermont-Fd (Allan Bulidon, Célia Couleaud, Vincent Debray, Léa Dexarcis, Clotilde Fernez, Mathilde Grivel, Clément Haffner), année 2016 2017
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Simon POLITANSKI

1894 - 1944 | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Chia Simon POLITANSKI est né le 14 décembre 1894 à Muegow (Pologne). On trouve également d’autres lieux de naissance comme Onianow, Unejewie et Unjejow. L’arrondissement de Turek est précisé. Ses parents sont Schliam Jenkel POLITANSKI et Hanna Riefkin née FRANKE (déjà décédés en 1929). Il réside en France à partir de 1923. Il épouse Jeanne  HERSCHENBERG, née le 5 juin 1899 à Mulhouse, le 21 février 1929 (contrat de mariage du 19 février 1929 par Paul BIRCKEL, notaire à Mulhouse ; acte de mariage n° 111 – année 1929). Elle est alors sans profession. Ses parents étaient Samuel Isaac HERSCHENBERG et Julie ZCKAWICZ. Simon POLITANSKI était représentant / voyageur de commerce à Mulhouse ; il semble avoir travaillé ensuite comme chemisier à Clermont-Ferrand. Avec sa femme, il a eu trois enfants :

  • Salomon Léon POLITANSKI, né le 15 novembre 1929 à Mulhouse
  • Marcel POLITANSKI, né le 26 juin 1934 à Mulhouse
  • Blanche POLITANSKI, née le 1er avril 1936 à Mulhouse

On connait les adresses successives de la famille POLITANSKI à Mulhouse grâce à un Certificat de domicile du commissaire de police Charles KLEIN, du 10 juillet 1951 :

  • 5, rue des Tanneurs, du 5 octobre 1931 au 31 mai 1934
  • 10, rue des Tanneurs, du 31 mai 1934 au 22 octobre 1935
  • 14, rue des Cordiers, du 22 octobre 1935 au 14 mars 1936
  • 5, rue des Fleurs, du 14 mars 1936 au 1er septembre 1939

La famille POLITANSKI quitte Mulhouse dès le 1er septembre 1939 et part s’établir d’abord à La Bourboule (7 septembre 1939 – 2 février 1940) avant de gagner Clermont-Ferrand. On leur connait deux logements successifs dans cette ville : 71, rue des Hauts de Saint-André (à compter du 2 février 1940) puis 4, rue Villiet au cours de l’année 1940. Vivent aussi avec eux les beaux-parents de Simon POLITANSKI, Samuel Isaac HERSCHENBERG et son épouse.

Simon POLITANSKI est arrêté le 23 juin 1944 par la Gestapo à son domicile et enfermé dans la caserne du 92e régiment d’infanterie. Sa femme a réussi à s’échapper. Lorsque cette dernière a regagné son appartement, le 10 août, elle a constaté qu’il avait été pillé. Le préjudice est estimé à 128 725 francs, notamment avec le vol d’un portefeuille contenant 100 000 francs.

Une note de la mairie de Clermont-Ferrand, du 4 octobre 1946, retranscrite le 21,

Après son arrestation à Clermont-Ferrand, Simon POLITANSKI est interné à Vichy puis transféré le 15 juillet 1944 au camp de Drançy. Il est déporté le 31 du même mois à Auschwitz où il meurt au début du mois d’août.

  • L’acte de disparition de Simon POLITANSKI est définitivement établi le 25 décembre 1946 (n° 30 847) suite aux démarches de sa femme entamées en septembre.
  • On lui  refuse la mention « Mort pour la France ». Sa nationalité française ne semble pas prouvée. De plus, une note de la mairie de Clermont-Ferrand du 4 octobre 1946 stipule que « POLITANSKI Surion (sic) né le 14 décembre 1894 habitait Clermont-Fd depuis 1940 et était réfugié de Mulhouse. Ce juif passait dans son voisinage pour un usurier. La conduite de POLITANSKI n’a donné lieu pendant sa présence à Clermont-Fd à aucune remarque défavorable. Au point de vue national, son attitude semble avoir été correcte« .
  • Le 31 mars 1948, le chef de service des Fichiers de Déportés Politiques (Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre,Direction départementale du Puy-de-Dôme, quartier Gribeauval) délivre à Jeanne POLITANSKI (domiciliée 4, rue Villiet) un certificat lui permettant de toucher la « solde de captivité » puisque son mari est « non rentré à ce jour ». Deux personnes confirment sa disparition : Mme FRIEDER et M. SPIBER.
  • L’acte de décès de Simon POLITANSKI est tardivement retranscrit le 9 septembre 1949 dans les registres d’état-civil de la ville de Clermont-Ferrand (acte de transcription de décès n°64).
  • Le Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre (Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre (Délégation interdépartementale de Strasbourg) lui attribue le 12 septembre 1953 le titre de « déporté politique ». Sont prises en compte deux périodes, une d’internement (23 juin / 31 juillet 1944) et une de déportation (1er août / 5 août 1944). Dans leurs déclarations sur l’honneur   Flore DREYFUSS (Strasbourg), le 18 décembre 1951, et  Esther ZOBERMANN (Strasbourg ; née le 21 mai 1926 à Belfort), le 20 janvier 1953, déclarent « avoir eu connaissance de l’arrestation et de la déportation de POLITANSKI Simon (…) pour motif racial« .
  • Le Certificat d’Incarcération de Simon POLITANSKI est le n° 64 709 ; il a été sollicité en 1956 par le Service International de Recherches (intermédiaire ; maître L. SCHENKEL, avocat, 411 rue du Vieux Marché aux Vins, Strasbourg) représentant la veuve de Simon POLITANSKI, établie à cette date à Strasbourg.

NOTA : il est fait mention de deux oncles, Samuel SPITLBERG à Paris (XVIIIe) et Aron POLITANSKI. Les deux enfants aînés ont émigré en Argentine, à Buenos Aires, auprès de ce dernier.

Sources consultées aux Archives départementales du Puy-de-Dôme :

68 W 34, 145 W 27, 277 W 99, 277 W 104-105-106-113-115, 368 W51, 900 W 63, 902 W 376, 908 W 192, 1570 W 2-3-5

Voir https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichTexte.do?cidTexte=JORFTEXT000000204078&dateTexte= (Arrêté du 3 novembre 1997 portant apposition de la mention « Mort en déportation » sur les actes et jugements déclaratifs de décès)

Travail de recherche accompli par des élèves de 1ère ES1 du Lycée Ambroise Brugière de Clermont-Fd (Allan Bulidon, Célia Couleaud, Vincent Debray, Léa Dexarcis, Clotilde Fernez, Mathilde Grivel, Clément Haffner) sous la direction de M. Frédéric Jarrousse (professeur d’histoire-géographie) – Année scolaire 2016 / 2017

Politanski Simon Chia DAVCC Decision

Contributeur(s)

M. Frédéric Jarrousse (professeur d’histoire-géographie) et des élèves de sa classe de 1ère ES1 du Lycée Ambroise Brugière de Clermont-Fd (Allan Bulidon, Célia Couleaud, Vincent Debray, Léa Dexarcis, Clotilde Fernez, Mathilde Grivel, Clément Haffner), année 2016 2017
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?