Jacob FREIDINE

1914 - 1961 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:
FREIDINE_Jacob

Jacob Freidine

written by Vincent SZUKALA, a student working for his Master of Archive Science Degree 2017-2018, under the direction of Professor Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis. This biography may be revised after a director’s review.

 

Jacob Freidine was born on January 11, 1914 in the fourth district of Paris. He was the son of Meyer Freidine (born in Tchernigoff, Russia [now Tchernihiv, Ukraine] on November 29, 1881) and of Anna Guerskovitz.

 

The Freidine family lived at n° 18 rue du Roi de Sicile in Paris’s fourth district. His father was a peddler who sold antiques and bric-à-brac. He went out of business in 1940 because he had no shop and was selling in the market without a license. He was forced to give up his peddler’s badge and was struck from the trade register, compelling him to liquidate his business. His mother made caps.

Jacob Freidine had brown hair and eyes, a straight nose, weighed 90 kilos (198 pounds) at 1 meter 64 (5 foot 4), and worked in trade, according to his military service file.  On March 14, 1934 he was temporarily excluded from military service because of obesity and high blood pressure. After the war, on November 6, 1946 the Paris conscription board exempted  him permanently.

On August 20, 1941 he was arrested at his home at n° 18 rue du Roi de Sicile during the second roundup of Jews in 1941, this time including all Jews, whether foreign or French. He was interned in the Drancy camp, which had just been “inaugurated”. He was freed on January 8, 1943. During his imprisonment he worked as an employee in the Jewish orphanage of la Varenne Saint Hilaire, which mainly took in the children whose parents had been deported. This orphanage depended on the UGIF (General Union of the Israelites of France). His liberation was presumably related to this professional activity. As the UGIF worked for the German administration, it is likely that he was released for that reason.

He was again arrested by Captain Brunner (an SS officer) in a roundup at the la Varenne Saint Hilaire orphanage on July 23, 1944 along with the orphanage’s children and interned once more in the Drancy camp. He was deported to Auschwitz in convoy 77 on July 31, 1944, arriving there on August 4th. He was given the I.D. number B-3759. He was liberated from the camp by the Russians on January 27, 1945 and repatriated to France on June 13, 1945.

While imprisoned at Auschwitz, according to the testimony1 of the deportee Marco Aron, who was with him there, Jacob Freidine was no doubt subjected to so-called medical experiments in the camps that must have weakened him considerably. Marco Aron describes him as “a man devoted to his fellow prisoners”, and he is said to have conducted himself as a “true patriot”.

On March 30, 1946 he married Esther Bercovici in the fourth district of Paris. They lived at n° 33 rue du Pré Saint Gervais in Paris’s 19th district.

Esther Bercovici was born on March 28, 1911. She was employed part-time at the Departmental Bureau for Veterans and War Victims.

In 1955 Jacob Freidine petitioned the Ministry of Veterans and War Victims for recognition as a political deportee, which he was granted the same year.

In that year he drew an indemnity of 60,000 francs for the loss of his possessions as a deportee.

Starting on May 10, 1955 Jacob Freidine was given a 100% disability pension for the experiments he underwent during his stay in Auschwitz. From 1954 Jacob Freidine was frequently ill and worked only intermittently as Director of the Repatriated Deportees.

On July 27, 1961 Jacob Freidine died in the Saint Louis Hospital in Paris. According to a letter his wife, Esther Bercovici, sent to the Ministry of Veterans and War Victims, Jacob Freidine died as a result of the treatment he suffered in the Nazi camps.

On February 1, 1965 Jacob Freidine was attributed the mention “Died for France” by the Ministry for Veterans and War Victims.

 

1.Testimony among the enclosed documents in Esther Freidine’s letter to the Ministry of Veterans and War Victims

 

 

 

Bibliography

. Hazan Kathy, (2000), Les orphelins de la Shoah, Paris , Les Belles Lettres , 418 p

. Wieviorka Annette (2013), Déportations et génocide, Entre la mémoire et l‘oubli,          Pluriel, 512 p

. Wieviorka Annette (2015), A l’intérieur du camp de Drancy, Tempus, 416 p

 

FREIDINE_Jacob

Contributor(s)

Vincent SZUKALA, étudiant en M1 Archives 2017-2018, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

mycroissant_logo_white_2corners

©2019 Website made by My Croissant Digital Marketing Agency WordPress & Community Experts

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Jacob FREIDINE

1914 - 1961 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Jacob Freidine

par Vincent SZUKALA, étudiant en M1 Archives 2017-2018, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis. Biographie susceptible de révision après relecture professorale.

 

Jacob Freidine est né  le 11 Janvier 1914 à Paris dans le quatrième arrondissement. Il est le fils de Meyer Freidine  ( né à Tchernigoff Russie le 29 Novembre 1881) et d’Anna Guerskovitz

 

La famille Freidine habitait 18 Rue du roi de Sicile dans le quatrième arrondissement à Paris. Le père, marchand ambulant, exploitait un commerce de brocanteur. Il a cessé son activité en 1940 car il n’avait pas de boutique et vendait sur le marché sans autorisation. Il  a été dans l’obligation de rendre sa médaille de marchant ambulant et a été radié du registre de commerce et donc de liquider son entreprise. Sa mère  est casquettière.

Jacob Freidine est employé de commerce, il est châtain aux yeux marron, nez rectiligne et mesure 1m 64 pour 90 kilos d’après son dossier du service militaire. Le 14 Mars 1934, au moment de ce service militaire,  il est réformé temporairement  pour obésité et pour des problèmes de santé (hypertension). Et, après guerre, le 6 Novembre 1946, la commission de Réforme de Paris le réforme définitivement.

Le 20 Aout 1941 il est arrêté  à son domicile, 18 rue du roi de Sicile, pendant la seconde  rafle des Juifs  de 1941, qui visait tous les Juifs, étrangers ou français. Il est interné dans le camp de Drancy, qui vient d’être « inauguré ». Il est libéré le 8 Janvier 1943. Durant son internement  à partir de 1941 il travaille en tant qu’employé dans un centre d’orphelinat Israelite, l’orphelinat de la Varenne Saint Hilaire qui recueille principalement les enfants dont les parents avaient été déportés.  Cet orphelinat dépendait de l’UGIF (Union Général des Israelites de France) . On suppose que sa libération a surement un lien avec cette activité professionnelle. En effet sachant que l’UGIF travaillait pour l’administration Allemande, il est probable qu’il ait été relâché pour cette raison.

Il est une nouvelle fois arrêté par le capitaine Brunner (officier SS)  lors d’une rafle le 23 Juillet 1944  à l’orphelinat de la Varenne  Saint Hilaire, avec les enfants de l’orphelinat et interné à nouveau dans le camp de Drancy. Il est déporté vers Auschwitz par le convoi 77 le 31 Juillet 1944, il arrive le 4 Aout à Auschwitz. Il y reçoit le numéro de matricule B-3759. Il est libéré du camp par les Russes le 27 Janvier 1945 et est rapatrié le 13 Juin 1945 en France.

Pendant sa détention à Auschwitz, d’après le témoignage1 du déporté Marco Aron qui était avec lui à Auschwitz, Jacob Freidine aurait subi des expériences prétendument médicales dans les camps qui l’auraient très affaibli. Marco Aron le décrit comme un « homme dévoué pour ses codétenus» et il se serait comporté comme un «vrai patriote ».

Le 30 Mars 1946 il se marie avec Esther Bercovici dans le quatrième arrondissement de Paris. Ils habitent 33 rue du Pré Saint Gervais dans le 19ème arrondissement de Paris.

Esther Bercovici est  née le 28 Mars 1911. Elle est employée comme vacataire à l’Office Départementale  des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre.

En 1955, Jacob Freidine fait une demande auprès du Ministère des Anciens Combattant et des Victimes de Guerre afin d’obtenir le titre de déporté politique, titre qu’il obtiendra la même année.

Cette année là il touche une indemnisation pour  les pertes de biens par les déportés de 60 000 Francs.

A partir du 10 Mai 1955 Jacob Freidine  du fait des expériences qu’il a subies pendant son séjour à Auschwitz touche une pension d’invalidité de 100 %. A partir de 1954 Jacob Freidine est fréquemment malade et ne travaille que de manière intermittente, comme Directeur des Déportés Rapatriés

Le  27 Juillet 1961 Jacob Freidine meurt à l’Hôpital Saint Louis à Paris. Selon les termes d’une lettre de sa femme, Esther Bercovici, envoyée au Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victimes de Guerre, Jacob Freidine serait mort suite au traitement subi dans les camps Nazis.

Le 1er Février 1965 le Ministère des Anciens Combattants et des Victimes de Guerre attribue la mention « Mort pour la France » à Jacob Freidine.

 

1.Témoignage qui fait partie des pièces jointe de la lettre d’Esther Freidine envoyé            au Ministère des Anciens Combattants et Victime de Guerre

 

 

 

Bibliographie

. Hazan Kathy, (2000), Les orphelins de la Shoah, Paris , Les Belles Lettres , 418 p

. Wieviorka Annette (2013), Déportations et génocide, Entre la mémoire et l‘oubli,          Pluriel, 512 p

. Wieviorka Annette (2015), A l’intérieur du camp de Drancy, Tempus, 416 p

FREIDINE_Jacob

Contributeur(s)

Vincent SZUKALA, étudiant en M1 Archives 2017-2018, sous la direction de la Professeure Marie-Anne MATARD-BONUCCI, Université Paris 8, Vincennes-St Denis
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?