Jacques REBBOAH

1924-1945 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Biography of Jacques, Jacob, André, Rebboah

 

Jacques Jacob André Rebboah was born on January 8 in Lyon, France. He lived at 5, quai de la Bibliothèque, in the 5th district, with his parents Henri Aaron Rebboah (born November 14 1883 in Mostaganem, in the Oran department of Algeria) and Anna Rebboah, née Benaïm, (born July 25 1887 in Relizane, in the Oran department of Algeria) along with his youngest brother Prosper Rebboah (father of Muriel and Jean-Jacques, the authors of this biography).

47726_Rebboah_Jacques_CNI_archive_familiale

Jacques had three brothers:
Maurice Rebboah, born July 14, 1913 in Relizane, in the Oran department of Algeria.
Victor Rebboah, born November 11, 1918 in Relizane, in the Oran department of Algeria.
Prosper Rebboah, born July 10 in Lyon, in the 5th district.

47726_REBBOAH_jacques 21

A family photo of Aaron, Anna, Victor, Jacques and Prosper

 

In 1944, when events came to a head for Jacques, his two brothers were destined for different futures:

Maurice, the eldest, had been taken prisoner by the Germans in 1940 and detained ever since.

Victor, who was married, lived with his wife Jeannette and their little boy, Gilles, in Grenoble, in the Isère department.

On the morning of July 1, 1944, Jacques was to go to the funeral of a colleague from the factory where he worked. The man was a worker who had been killed one night by a German patrol when he was on his way to go fishing after the curfew. Jacques undoubtedly felt it a matter of honor to pay this final tribute to his comrade. The incident had caused a great stir at their workplace and there were fears that things would become heated. Let’s not forget that the Allied landing had just only recently taken place, on 6 June, and a “wind of liberation” was blowing over occupied France.

Aware of the potential danger, his mother Anna had been careful not to wake her son that morning. However, when a brother-in-law of our grandparents came to visit, the sound of the doorbell startled Jacques, who rushed out so as not to be late for the ceremony.

It was while returning from this funeral that he was arrested, on rue de la Barre, by Touvier’s militiamen, who were making an increasing number of arrests throughout the region. It is important to note here that on June 28, 1944, a Resistance commando had shot dead Philippe Henriot (the Vichy regime’s Secretary of State for Information and Propaganda and also a sinister member of the militia).

Jacques’ mother was informed of her son’s arrest by Georgette Zerbib, a young girl who helped her with the housework.

His father and his brother Victor, who was himself wanted by the militia and had left Grenoble with his family to seek refuge in Lyon, were together at 13, Rue Emile Zola, where Aaron Rebboah had a shoe-repair shop.

The Gestapo headquarters was at 32, Place Bellecour, just a stone’s throw from the store. It was there that Jacques was taken, as were all the other people arrested by the militiamen.

The end of the war was approaching and the highly active Lyon militiamen were intensifying their operations. At the same time, they were beginning to organize the rearguard in preparation for an imminent escape. It was probably with this in mind that one of the militiaman suggested that Jacques take him to his parents’ store (most likely in secret) to try to extract some money from them.

It was there that Aaron and Victor saw Jacques arrive with the plainclothes militiaman (whose identity the family were never to discover!!!) who asked them for money.

47726_REBBOAH_jacques_Aron_et_Victor

Aaron and Victor

Of course, Aaron didn’t have enough money at the time, so he suggested that he get some later and then exchange his son for the “ransom” demanded. Our uncle Victor, a tough non-commissioned infantry officer, surreptitiously suggested to his father that he lure the policeman into the attic/out to the porch/shelter where he himself would deal with him with one of the shoemaker’s punches. However, the venture proved impractical and was swiftly abandoned.

Jacques asked if he could have something to eat and Mr Jean Blanpain, who owned a liquor store at 15, rue Emile ZOLA, was asked to provide a snack (we were able to find a copy of his testimony dated November 22, 1950 as part of an investigation undertaken after the war).

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Blanpain

The whole family then left Lyon in a hurry. Jacques’ father, Aaron, was able to take his family to safety in a house located in Saint-Génis les Ollières in the Rhone department, where he had rented a small apartment from a Mr and Mrs Riberon, a couple who were laundry workers and people they could trust.

So there they all stayed until the liberation of Lyon:

His wife Anna, his young son Prosper, his son Victor with his wife Jeannette, his daughter Yvette and their son Gilles. They were soon joined by Esther, Aaron’s sister, accompanied by her husband Emile Cohen. The day after Jacques’ arrest, the militia went to the family home at 5, quai de la Bibliothèque (since renamed quai Romain Rolland). The Crassard sisters, who were their neighbors on the same landing, would later tell Aaron and Anna that the militiamen had forced the heavy front door with “heavy blows of rifle butts” and looted the apartment and then, afterwards, the store on rue Emile ZOLA.

As for Jacques, he was taken to Fort Montluc in Lyon (a sadly famous prison where Jean Moulin, among others, was imprisoned under the false name of…Jacques Martel…until his cover was blown!!!)

Our uncle Jacques remained in detention until July 21, 1944, when he was sent to DRANCY.

From Drancy, he was deported on July 31, 1944 in convoy 77 and arrived at AUSCHWITZ on August 2, 1944 (registration number B 3890). Convoy 77 was the last to leave Drancy for Auschwitz. The Nazi commander Aloïs BRUNNER in his rage of murderous madness had no hesitation in stopping trains carrying German reinforcements towards the Normandy front in order to give first priority to his death train. He had made every effort, for this last convoy, to gather together over 1,300 people, including 300 children (the youngest was barely 3 weeks old!!!!).

After much research it was in 1945 that Aaron, our grandfather, received the official death certificate of his son, Jacques, who died on October 29, 1944 in Auschwitz.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_acte_deces_1948
For 73 years, this date of 29 October 1944 remained the last thing we knew of this sad life story.

This fact was confirmed, moreover, by the J.O.R.F (Journal Officiel de la République Française – Official Journal of the French Republicl) n° 57 of 8 March 1997 (page 3684), which confirmed the death of Jacques Rebboah (born 08/01/24 in Lyon, department 69) on 29 October 1944 in Auschwitz[1].

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_deces

 

However, HISTORY is truly cruel and full of morbid surprises!

On July 31, 2014 for the commemoration of the 70th anniversary of convoy 77 at the SHOAH memorial in Paris we (Muriel, Jean-Jacques, Philippe, Corinne and Jocelyne) accompanied our father Prosper REBBOAH, who wanted to pay a final tribute to Jacques. The entire list of names of the convoy 77 deportees was read out in alphabetical order by various people, including a few survivors whom we (at last!) have been able to get to know.
It was then that we met Georges MAYER, whose father was on convoy 77. He was the one who, with so much energy and courage, initiated the convoy 77 association, and I, Muriel Nemoz, née Rebboah, am now on its board of directors. It is thanks to Georges MAYER that we decided to gather as many documents as possible concerning the members of this convoy and to compile as complete a biography as possible for each of them.

And it was from there that my brother Jean-Jacques and I began to work on putting together our file.
With this in mind, on April 11, 2017, taking advantage of a family reunion to celebrate Passover, the Jewish Easter, Jean-Jacques said to me: “let’s search the net” to help compile the biography of our uncle by simply entering the words “Jacques Rebboah deportee”.
Several results appeared immediately, including a title in German “Die Häftlinge des DZ AuBenlagers Hailfingen/Tailfingen de Volker Mall”. For us, of course, this German text was utterly incomprehensible, but the summary that appeared under the link caught our attention with the words “…exhumation and repatriation of the body of…Jacques Rebboah, who died on 11-4-45 in Speyer…”.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM347726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM4

Who was it about??? Another person of the same name???

We clicked again to retrieve the entire text, which we scrolled down without really understanding it since it was written almost entirely in German.

There was a complete list of names in alphabetical order with an explanatory note that seemed to tell the story of each person. The dates and town or city names were given in German and sometimes in French. We continued to scroll down and when we arrived at Jacques Rebboah we cried out in surprise as a photo of our uncle appeared unexpectedly. That same photo, the one we knew so well, the photo taken a few months before his arrest, in his 20th year: it really was HIM !!!

In addition, the short text in French and the dates matched those of Jacques “…born on 08/01/1924 in Lyon, address 5, quai de la Bibliothèque ” but why did it say “died on 11-4-45 in Speyer” and “body repatriated”???

Here, then, is the continuation of his story that we did not know until then:

On 28 October 1944 he was transferred to the Stutthof camp (in Poland, near Danzig, now Gdansk).
In November1944, he was transferred to Hailfingen (registration number 40,866).
In early February 1945 he was sent to the Vaihingen/Enz camp
On April 7, 1945, the 1st French Army liberated this concentration camp. The French soldiers discovered the horrors of that it held.

Jacques lived through the liberation of the camp but he was very sick (with typhus). He was sent to the Diaconesses hospital in Speyer where, unfortunately, he died on April 11, 1945 and was then buried in Speyer cemetery. In 1950, at the request of the French authorities, his remains were exhumed and moved to the Cernay French Military Cemetery in the province of Alsace. It is here that he now lies, in area 39/45, grave N° 1169.

 

On his headstone are the words:

REBBOAH Jacques
D.P.
MORT POUR LA FRANCE LE 11-4-1945

(Died for France on 11.4.1945)

 

Yes, HISTORY is facetious in more ways than one: it is as if the past intertwines with the present with disconcerting persistence!!!!!

Our father, Prosper Rebboah, the last surviving sibling, passed away on September 20, 2014 and the book by Volker Mall and Harald Roth, so full of information would be published in…November 2014. In it, we also discover the stories of 60 other deportees from convoy 77.

Moreover, it is through this book that we learned that Jacques had been buried in the cemetery at Cernay. Our father often went to nearby Haguenau, where the headquarters of his employer, the company Roos, was located.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Cernay_tombe
Better still: why did we discover this astonishing information “died on 11-4-1945” on exactly 11-4-2017, that being 72 years to the day after his death?!! On this first evening of Passover, to mark the occasion, we put the pictures of Prosper and James with us at the table as if they themselves were asking to stay among us… as if they wanted to tell us: “Carry on with your lives because OUR story is not over!!”.

 

This biography was written by me Muriel Nemoz, née Rebboah, and my brother Jean-Jacques Rebboah. We wanted to base it on as many documents as possible in order to determine as accurately as possible the reality of what happened.

We were able to obtain many documents thanks to the copy of file N° 21 P 529 700 on Jacob Jacques André Rebboah, which the CAEN archive center of the Ministry of Veterans Affairs kindly sent us.

We would like to thank Mr Volker Mall and Mr Harald Roth for their excellent research work, which enabled us to learn, at long last, a whole chapter in the history of our uncle’s life that our family had been completely unaware of up to now.

We would like to thank Georges Mayer in particular, for his skill in gathering an entire team around him to undertake a very valuable commemorative project, which is so essential in this day and age.

We do feel, however, a sense of bitterness on reading an official letter, dated February 7, 1951, which makes it clear that the information network failed.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_195147726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951_suite

In effect, by playing with words, the writer of this document proves that he closed the file a little too hastily in concluding: “under these circumstances, it is not possible for me to notify Mr REBBOAH, in Lyon, of a death that I am not sure concerns his son.”

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_jugement_deces_faux

Yet this concerned our uncle’s entire odyssey, from October 28, 1944 at Auschwitz, to his death on April 11, 1945, and then, later on, to his grave in a French national cemetery.

Through his remarkable incompetence this “bureaucrat” deprived an entire family of the TRUTH about the fate of their son and brother: they never knew that he had died a free man.

My brother Jean-Jacques and I were children at the end of the 1950s, but we still have vivid recollections of our grandparents’ silent grief.

When she was minding us in her home, our grandmother pampered us and in her big bed she told us the story of a wonderful boy we had never known. She carefully brought out childhood notebooks containing splendid and almost unreal drawings that fascinated us and made us dream. What a pleasant life he must have had. We didn’t understand the whole story but still we felt, in the tenderness of Anna’s words, that there was something magical about it. Now we know and we keep these famous notebooks like precious treasure.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans1 47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans2

As for our grandfather, he intrigued us a lot because he was so odd. He would mysteriously lead us in front of a big mirror, ask us to talk to the man in the mirror and try to persuade him to hand something or someone back to him and then he would try to slip banknotes under the mirror!!! It made us laugh very hard, but it also scared us a bit, because we didn’t really understand this old grandfather of ours.

Aaron died, having lost his mind over reliving this devastating obsession. It was later, of course, that we understood that he had never been able to admit that a French “policeman” had kidnapped his son from right under his nose and that he, a true patriot and 14-18 veteran, could do nothing about it!

Today we understand only too well this terrible pain of separation from a loved one and we imagine the LOVE that united this family with a delightful “BEFORE” and a repugnant “AFTER”.

To conclude, we would like to quote the testimony dated September 26, 1950 of J. Korchez, who was interned in Montluc prison with Jacques. He wrote: “Your son Jacques was my fellow prisoner in Montluc and in Drancy and he often talked to me about you. Unfortunately, like most of my companions, he did not return from the Nazi camps.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Korchez

Perhaps you will find some consolation, in thinking of the testimony of the stranger that I am, that he was a good son and a good comrade.”

It now seems certain to us that Jacques found the strength to hold on, during these long months of slavery, to the sole prospect of seeing his own again one day… and he almost succeeded!!!

To close, here are the photos of Jacques and Raphael Caraco, now displayed on the staircase of Vahingen town hall.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM2

and there is also a picture of Jacques’ parents, Anna and Aaron

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Anna_Aaron

His school certificate, at the age of 12 years, with a “good” mark.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Certif

His diploma from trade school.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_ecole_metiers

 

[1] See document #7, death certificate

 

47726_Rebboah_Jacques_CNI_archive_familiale
47726_REBBOAH_jacques 21
47726_REBBOAH_jacques_Aron_et_Victor
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Blanpain
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_deces
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM1
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM2
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM3
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Cernay_tombe
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_jugement_deces_faux
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans1
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans2
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM4
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Korchez
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Anna_Aaron
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Certif
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_ecole_metiers
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_acte_deces_1948
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951_suite
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_note_1970
Jacques REBBOAH né le 8 janvier 1924 déporté de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.

Contributor(s)

Muriel NEMOZ et Jean-Jacques Rebboah
1 Comment
  1. Rebboah 2 months ago

    Merci pour ce témoignage de l’un de nos aïeux… Je suis heureuse et triste à la fois… heureuse d’en savoir plus sur le frère de mon grand père chéri Victor, mais triste qu’il n’ait pas eu les réponses aux questions qui l’ont taraudé tout au long de sa vie. Beau travail de recherches merci pour eux, Maurice, Victor, Prosper, Anna, Aaron, et Jacques.
    Myriam REBBOAH

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Jacques REBBOAH

1924-1945 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Biographie de Jacques, Jacob, André REBBOAH

 

 

Jacques Jacob André REBBOAH est né le 8 Janvier 1924 à LYON, où il résidait au 5, Quai de la Bibliothèque dans le 5e Arrondissement avec ses parents Henri, Aaron REBBOAH (né le 14 Novembre 1883 à Mostaganem Département d’Oran en Algérie) et Anna REBBOAH (née BENAÏM le 25 Juillet 1887 à Relizane, département d’Oran en Algérie) ainsi que son plus jeune frère Prosper REBBOAH (père de Muriel et Jean-Jacques, auteurs de la biographie).

47726_Rebboah_Jacques_CNI_archive_familiale

Jacques avait 3 frères :
Maurice REBBOAH né le 14 Juillet 1913 à Relizane (Département d’Oran en Algérie).
Victor REBBOAH né le 11 Novembre 1918 à Relizane (Département d’Oran en Algérie).
Prosper REBBOAH né le 10 Juillet 1929 à LYON 5e.

47726_REBBOAH_jacques 21

Photo de famille, avec Aron, Anna, Victor, Jacques et  Prosper

En 1944, quand les événements se sont précipités pour Jacques, ses deux frères connurent des destinées différentes :

Maurice, l’aîné fut fait prisonnier par les Allemands en 1940 et était détenu depuis,
Victor, qui était marié, vivait avec son épouse (Jeannette) et leur petit garçon (Gilles) à GRENOBLE en Isère.

Au matin du 1er Juillet 1944, Jacques devait se rendre à l’enterrement d’un collègue d’usine. Il s’agissait d’un ouvrier qui s’était fait tuer de nuit par une patrouille allemande, alors qu’il allait pêcher après le couvre-feu. Jacques mettait assurément un point d’honneur à rendre ce dernier hommage à ce camarade, car cette affaire avait fait grand bruit dans leur milieu professionnel et il était à craindre que les esprits ne s’échauffent (n’oublions pas que le débarquement allié venait d’avoir lieu le 6 Juin et un «vent de libération» soufflait sur la France occupée…).

Du reste, consciente du danger potentiel, sa mère Anna avait pris soin de ne pas réveiller son fils ce matin-là. Cependant, le bruit de la sonnette retentit à la porte (un beau-frère de nos grands-parents venait leur rendre visite…) et fit sursauter Jacques qui se précipita pour ne pas être en retard à la cérémonie.

C’est en revenant de cet enterrement qu’il fût arrêté, Rue de la Barre, par la milice de TOUVIER qui multipliait les arrestations dans toute la région. Il faut savoir que, le 28 Juin 1944, un commando de la résistance avait abattu à PARIS Philippe HENRIOT (alors Secrétaire d’État à l’information et à la propagande de VICHY et sinistre membre de  la milice).

La mère de Jacques fût prévenue de l’arrestation de son fils par Georgette ZERBIB, la jeune fille qui l’aidait pour les travaux de la maison.

Son père et son frère Victor (qui, lui-même recherché par la milice, avait quitté Grenoble avec sa famille pour se mettre à l’abri) se trouvaient ensemble au 13, Rue Emile Zola où Aaron REBBOAH avait un commerce de cordonnerie.

Le siège de la GESTAPO se trouvait au 32, Place BELLECOUR à deux pas du magasin. C’est là que Jacques fut conduit comme toutes les autres personnes arrêtées par les miliciens.

La fin de la guerre était proche et la milice de LYON, très active, multipliait ses actions et commençait à organiser ses arrières en vue d’une fuite imminente. C’est dans ce contexte, probablement, qu’un milicien proposa à Jacques de l’accompagner (certainement en cachette) au magasin de ses parents pour leur soutirer de l’argent.

C’est là que son père Aaron et son frère Victor ont donc vu arriver Jacques avec ce milicien en civil (dont la famille ne découvrira jamais l’identité…!!) qui leur réclama de l’argent.

47726_REBBOAH_jacques_Aron_et_Victor

Aaron et Victor

Mais, bien sûr, Aaron n’en avait pas assez, sur le moment, et il lui proposa de s’en procurer plus tard pour échanger son fils contre la «rançon» exigée. Notre oncle Victor, vigoureux sous-officier d’infanterie, proposa discrètement à son père d’attirer le policier dans la sous-pente où, lui-même, se chargerait de le neutraliser avec l’un des poinçons de cordonniers…Mais l’aventure s’avéra bien peu réalisable et vite abandonnée.

Jacques demanda s’il pouvait manger quelque chose et un casse-croûte fut demandé à Mr Jean BLANPAIN qui tenait un débit de boisson au 15 de la rue Emile ZOLA (nous avons pu trouver copie de son témoignage du 22 Novembre 1950 lors d’une enquête entreprise après la guerre).

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Blanpain

Toute la famille quitta alors Lyon dans l’urgence et le père de Jacques, Aaron put mettre les siens à l’abri, dans une maison située à SAINT-GENIS LES OLLIERES (Rhône) où il avait loué un petit appartement à un couple de blanchisseurs, Mr et Mme RIBERON, personnes de confiance.

S’y retrouvèrent donc jusqu’à la libération de Lyon :

Son épouse Anna, son jeune fils Prosper, son fils Victor avec sa femme Jeannette, sa fille Yvette et leur fils Gilles. Ils furent bientôt rejoints par Esther, sœur d’Aaaron, accompagnée de son mari Emile COHEN. Bien leur en prit car, dès le lendemain de l’arrestation de Jacques, la milice se rendit au domicile familial, 5 quai de la Bibliothèque (actuellement rebaptisé Quai Romain Rolland). Les voisines de paliers, les sœurs CRASSARD, appendront plus tard à Aaron et à Anna que les miliciens ont forcé la lourde porte d’entrée à «grands coups de crosses» et pillé l’appartement et, plus tard le magasin rue Emile ZOLA.

Quant à Jacques, il fut conduit au fort MONTLUC de Lyon  (prison tristement célèbre où fut emprisonné, entre autres, Jean MOULIN sous  le faux nom de …Jacques MARTEL…avant d’être démasqué !!!).

Notre oncle Jacques restera interné jusqu’au 21 Juillet 1944 date à laquelle il fut envoyé à DRANCY.

De DRANCY, il fut déporté le 31 Juillet 1944 par le convoi 77 et arrivera à AUSCHWITZ le 2 Août 1944 (matricule B 3890). Le convoi 77 fut le dernier à quitter Drancy pour Auschwitz. Le commandant nazi Aloïs BRUNNER dans sa rage de folie meurtrière n’hésita pas à faire stopper les trains de renforts allemands en direction du front de Normandie pour donner priorité à son train de la mort. Il s’est efforcé de réunir dans ce dernier convoi plus de 1.300 personnes dont 300 enfants (le plus jeune avait…à peine 3 semaines…!!!).

Après de nombreuses recherches c’est en 1945 que Aaron, notre grand-père a reçu l’acte officiel du décès de son fils, Jacques,  survenu le 29 Octobre 1944 à AUSCHWITZ.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_acte_deces_1948
Durant 73 ans cette date du 29 0ctobre 1944 resta la dernière chose que nous connaissions de ce triste parcours.
Pour entériner ce fait c’est, du reste, le J.O.R.F (Journal Officiel de la République Française) n° 57 du 8 Mars 1997 (page 3684) qui confirme le décès de Jacques REBBOAH (né le 08/01/24 à 69 LYON) le 29 Octobre 1944 à Auschwitz[1].

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_deces

Mais l’ HISTOIRE est décidément bien cruelle et pleine de surprises morbides !!!
Le 31 Juillet 2014 pour la commémoration du 70e anniversaire du convoi 77 au mémorial de la SHOAH à PARIS nous (Muriel, Jean-Jacques, Philippe, Corinne et Jocelyne) avons accompagné notre père Prosper REBBOAH qui souhaitait rendre un dernier hommage à Jacques. Toute la liste des noms des déportés du convoi 77 a été énoncée par ordre alphabétique par diverses personnes dont, parfois, quelques survivants dont nous avons (enfin !) pu faire la connaissance.
C’est alors que nous avons rencontré Georges MAYER dont le père fit partie de ce convoi 77. C’est lui qui, avec beaucoup d’énergie et de courage, est à l’origine de l’association convoi 77, et moi, Muriel Nemoz, née Rebboah, je fais maintenant partie de son conseil d’administration. C’est grâce à Georges MAYER que nous avons décidé de réunir un maximum de documents sur les membres de ce convoi et d’établir pour chacun d’entre eux une biographie aussi complète que possible.

Et c’est de là qu’avec mon frère Jean-Jacques nous avons commencé à nous atteler à constituer notre dossier.
Dans ce contexte, le 11 Avril 2017, profitant d’une réunion de famille pour fêter PESSAH, la Paque juive, Jean-Jacques me dit : « interrogeons le net » pour établir la biographie de notre oncle en tapant tout simplement le mot «Jacques REBBOAH déporté».
Plusieurs réponses sont aussitôt apparues dont un titre en allemand « Die Häftlinge des DZ AuBenlagers Hailfingen/Tailfingen de Volker MALL ». Bien entendu, ce texte allemand nous était parfaitement incompréhensible mais le résumé qui figurait sous ce lien nous sauta aux yeux avec la mention « …exhumation et rapatriement du corps de …Jacques REBBOAH décédé le 11-4-45 à Spire… ».

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM347726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM4

De qui s’agissait-il ??? D’un homonyme ???
Nous cliquons à nouveau pour obtenir la totalité du texte que nous déroulons sans bien comprendre car presque entièrement rédigé en allemand.
Il y a là toute une liste de noms par ordre alphabétique avec un texte explicatif qui semble relater l’histoire de chacun avec des dates et des noms de ville en allemand et parfois en français. Nous continuons à dérouler et en arrivant à Jacques REBBOAH nous poussons un cri de surprise car apparaît subitement la photo de notre oncle, cette seule photo que nous connaissons si bien, cette photo qui fut prise quelques mois avant son arrestation, dans sa 20e année : il s’agissait bien de LUI !!!

Du reste le peu de texte en français et les dates correspondent bien à Jacques « …né le 08/01/1924 à LYON domicilié 5, Quai de la Bibliothèque » mais pourquoi décédé le 11-4-45 à Spire et corps rapatrié ???

Voici donc la suite de son parcours que nous ne connaissions pas jusqu’alors :

Le 28 octobre 1944 il est transféré au camp de STUTTHOF (en Pologne à proximité de Dantzig, Gdansk aujourd’hui).
En novembre 1944, il est transféré à HAILFINGEN  (matricule 40 866).
Début février 1945 il est dirigé sur le camp de VAIHINGEN/ENZ
Le 7 avril 1945, la 1ère Armée Française libère ce camp de
concentration. Les soldats français y découvrent l’horreur.

Jacques vivra la libération du camp mais il est très malade (TYPHUS…). Il est envoyé à l’hôpital de DIACONESSES de SPIRE où, malheureusement, il décédera le 11 Avril 1945 et sera enterré au cimetière de SPIRE. C’est en 1950 qu’il sera exhumé pour être déplacé au cimetière  national de CERNAY (en Alsace) à la demande des autorités françaises. C’est ici qu’il repose aujourd’hui au carré 39/45 tombe n° 1169.

 

Sur sa stèle est écrit :

REBBOAH  Jacques
D.P.
MORT POUR LA FRANCE LE 11-4-1945

 

Oui, l’ HISTOIRE est facétieuse à plus d’un titre, comme si le passé se mêlait au présent avec une troublante insistance !!!

Notre père, Prosper REBBOAH, dernier survivant de la fratrie, est décédé le 20 Septembre 2014 et l’ouvrage de  Messieurs Volker MALL et Harald RHOT, si riche d’informations,  sera publié en…Novembre 2014. Nous y trouvons également la trace de 60 autres  déportés du convoi 77.

De plus, c’est par ce livre que nous apprenons que Jacques est enterré au Cimetière de CERNAY or, notre père se rendait souvent à Haguenau (tout proche) où se trouvait le siège de l’entreprise ROOS qui l’employait …

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Cernay_tombe
Mieux : pourquoi avons-nous découvert cette stupéfiante information « décédé le 11-4-1945 » précisément le 11-4-2017 soit 72 ans jour pour jour après sa mort !!! Ce premier soir de PESSAH où nous célébrons la pâque juive nous avons, pour la circonstance, mis les photos de Prosper et de Jacques avec nous à table comme s’ils demandaient eux-mêmes à demeurer parmi nous…comme s’ils voulaient nous dire : « Perpétuez la vie car NOTRE histoire continue !!! ».

 

Cette biographie a pu être réalisée par moi-même Muriel NEMOZ née REBBOAH et mon frère Jean-Jacques REBBOAH. Nous avons tenu à nous appuyer sur un maximum de documents afin de cerner au plus près la réalité des faits.

Nous avons pu disposer de nombreux documents grâce à la copie du dossier N° 21 P 529 700 de Jacob Jacques André REBBOAH que le centre d’archives de CAEN du Ministère des Anciens Combattants a bien voulu nous adresser.

Nous tenons à remercier Messieurs Volker MALL et Harald RHOT pour leur excellent travail de recherche qui nous a permis de connaître, enfin, tout un pan d’histoire du parcours de notre oncle que notre famille ignorait totalement jusqu’à maintenant.

Nous remercions ici tout particulièrement Georges MAYER qui a su fédérer toute une équipe autour de lui pour entreprendre un très important  travail de mémoire si nécessaire de nos jours.

 

Nous ressentons cependant un réel sentiment d’amertume à la lecture d’un courrier administratif daté du 7 Février 1951 qui fait nettement apparaître que la chaîne d’information s’est cassée.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_195147726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951_suite

En effet, jouant sur les mots, l’auteur de ce document prouve qu’il a   un peu trop rapidement  classé ce dossier en concluant que « dans ces conditions, il ne m’est pas possible de notifier à Monsieur REBBOAH, à Lyon, un décès dont je ne suis pas certain qu’il concerne son fils. »

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_jugement_deces_faux

Il s’agissait pourtant de toute l’odyssée de notre oncle depuis le 28 Octobre 1944 (à AUSCHWITZ) jusqu’à son décès le 11 Avril 1945 et, par la suite, sa tombe dans un cimetière  national français.

Par son incompétence notoire ce «bureaucrate» a privé toute une famille de connaître la VERITE sur le sort de leur fils et frère et n’ont jamais su qu’il était mort libéré.

Nous étions enfants à la fin des années 50, mon frère Jean-Jacques et moi, mais nous conservons de très forts souvenirs de la douleur muette de nos grands-parents.

Lorsqu’elle nous gardait chez elle, notre grand-mère nous dorlotait et dans son grand lit nous racontait l’histoire d’un merveilleux garçon que nous ne connaissions pas. Elle sortait avec précaution des cahiers d’enfant dont les dessins magnifiques et presque irréels nous fascinaient et nous faisaient rêver. Quelle douce vie il a dû avoir…nous ne comprenions pas tout de cette histoire mais nous sentions bien dans la douceur des propos d’ Anna que tout çà  avait quelque chose de féérique…Aujourd’hui nous savons et conservons ces fameux cahiers comme un précieux trésor.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans1 47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans2

Notre grand-père, quant à lui, nous intriguait beaucoup car il était bizarre. Il nous  entraînait mystérieusement devant une grande glace et nous demandait de parler au monsieur dans le miroir et de le convaincre de lui rendre quelque chose ou quelqu’un et essayait de faire passer des billets sous le miroir… !!! Cela nous faisait bien rire, au fond de nous, mais cela nous faisait aussi un peu peur, car nous ne comprenions pas trop ce vieux grand-père.

Aaron est mort et il avait perdu l’esprit à force de revivre cette obsession dévorante. C’est plus tard, bien sûr, que nous avons compris qu’il n’avait jamais pu admettre qu’un «policier» français lui eut enlevé son fils sous ses yeux sans qu’il ne put rien faire, lui le patriote profond et l’ancien combattant de 14-18 !!!

Aujourd’hui nous ne comprenons que trop cette terrible douleur de la séparation d’un être cher et imaginons l’ AMOUR qui unissait cette famille avec un délicieux «AVANT» et un répugnant «APRES».

Pour conclure, nous souhaitons citer le témoignage daté du 26 Septembre 1950 de J. KORCHEZ, interné à la prison Montluc avec Jacques. Il écrit : « Votre fils Jacques a été mon camarade d’internement à Montluc et à Drancy et il me parlait souvent de vous. Le malheur a voulu que comme la plupart de mes compagnons, il ne revint pas des camps nazis.

47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Korchez

Peut-être trouverez-vous un peu de consolation en pensant si le témoignage de l’étranger que je suis qu’il était un bon fils et un bon camarade. »

Il nous est maintenant certain que Jacques a trouvé la force de tenir durant ces longs mois d’esclavage à la seule idée de revoir un jour les siens…Il y était presque arrivé !!!

Et pour finir aujourd’hui les photos de Jacques et Raphael Caraco sont dans les escaliers de la mairie de Vahingen
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM2
et il reste une photo des parents de Jacques   Anna et Aron
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Anna_Aaron
Son certificat d’études à l’age de 12 ans mention bien
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Certif
Son diplôme  des écoles des métiers
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_ecole_metiers

 

 

[1] Cf document #7 extrait de décès

47726_Rebboah_Jacques_CNI_archive_familiale
47726_REBBOAH_jacques 21
47726_REBBOAH_jacques_Aron_et_Victor
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Blanpain
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_deces
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM1
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM2
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM3
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Cernay_tombe
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_jugement_deces_faux
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans1
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_dessin_12_ans2
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_VM4
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_temoignage_Korchez
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Anna_Aaron
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_Certif
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_ecole_metiers
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_acte_deces_1948
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_contentieux_1951_suite
47726_REBBOAH_Jacques_note_1970
Jacques REBBOAH né le 8 janvier 1924 déporté de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.

Contributeur(s)

Muriel NEMOZ et Jean-Jacques Rebboah
1 commentaire
  1. Rebboah 1 mois ago

    Merci pour ce témoignage de l’un de nos aïeux… Je suis heureuse et triste à la fois… heureuse d’en savoir plus sur le frère de mon grand père chéri Victor, mais triste qu’il n’ait pas eu les réponses aux questions qui l’ont taraudé tout au long de sa vie. Beau travail de recherches merci pour eux, Maurice, Victor, Prosper, Anna, Aaron, et Jacques.
    Myriam REBBOAH

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?