Marie-Anne VEXLER

1938 - 1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Marie-Anne Florica VEXLER

Marie-Anne and her elder sister Claude-Renée, with a group of children and their supervisor, Denise Holstein, taken on the steps of the villa in Louveciennes.

A family like any other…

Marie-Anne Florica, born October 17, 1938 and her elder sister Claude-Renée, born December 6, 1936 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin, a town in the Seine-et-Marne department in north-central France, were the daughters of Dr. Iancu Vexler, born July 29, 1907 in Husi, Romania, and Fajer Vexler, née Elbaum, born on January 23, 1906 in Warsaw, Poland.

The couple had lived at 14, rue de la Ferté-sous-Jouarre since 1936.

After graduating from medical school, Iancu opened a general practitioner’s surgery in Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin.

The couple had four daughters. Claude-Renée, born in 1936, Marie-Anne Florica, born in 1938, Hélène-Sarah, born in 1940 and Jeanne-Marie, born in 1941.

During the war, Iancu volunteered as a soldier and joined the 4th Infantry Platoon on June 9, 1940. After the armistice, he returned to Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin, where he once again worked as a doctor.

Despite the anti-Semitic laws that had been introduced in France, in particular the decree of October 7, 1940, which excluded all Jewish hospital doctors from practicing medicine, and the decrees of June 2 and June 24, 1941, which limited the number of Jewish doctors practicing per department, Dr. Vexler continued to practice in the town.

Iancu and Fajga Vexler,

Photograph taken from the book “Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre”

(The Vexlers: a Jewish family torn apart by war).

 

The arrest

On October 21, 1942, French gendarmes, led by Marshal Bonnet[1], went to the family home and arrested the couple.

On that date, 81 foreign Jews were arrested in a major roundup in the Seine-et-Marne department. They were sent to Drancy internment camp and then deported to Auschwitz on November 6, 1942 on Convoy N° 42.

The couple’s youngest two children, Hélène-Sarah, born in 1940, and Jeanne-Marie, born in 1941, were entrusted to Lucien Clément and his wife, who were friends of the couple. There they remained hidden in La Croix-Verte, a hamlet near Bassevelle, in Seine-et-Marne. In 1943, they went to live with their maternal grandmother in Bussières[2], also in Seine-et-Marne, where they continued to live in hiding until the liberation.

Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne went to stay with their nanny at her home in a hamlet, the Hameau de Mauroy, near Doue in Seine-et-Marne.

 

Arrival at Auschwitz

On November 11, as soon as Fajga arrived in Auschwitz, she was taken to the gas chambers and killed. She was only 36 years old. Iancu was selected to work as a Sonderkommando and was given the number 74154. On June 2, 1943, he was assigned to the Birkenau hospital to work alongside Dr. Josef Mengele, “the angel of death”[3]  where he became the doctor for the gypsies. He was liberated in May 1945 by Soviet troops[4].

 

 

The fate of the elder daughters, Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne Florica

At the time of their parents’ arrest, Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne Florica were staying with a nanny, Mrs. Cauturon, in Mauroy[5], a hamlet near Doue, a few miles from Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin.

However, as of September 1943, despite the nanny’s misgivings, they were entrusted to the UGIF, Union Générale des Israélites de France, or Union of French Jews[6]). After passing through a sorting center for Jewish children, UGIF center N° 28, on rue Lamark in Paris, they were sent to center N° 59 in Louveciennes[7], in the western suburbs of Paris.

There they stayed for a year, in difficult circumstances. There was not enough food, a lack of care and a shortage of clothes, but not a lack of love. The two girls were cared for by Denise Holstein[8], a 17-year-old teenager, who was in charge of 9 younger children. Marie was a “wonderful, sparkling little girl” with “big blue eyes and black hair”, according to Denise[9].

 

The living conditions were terrible and Pierrette Grisel, a social worker and member of the Red Cross, wanted to extricate them from the center[10]. She was a member of the OSE, Œuvre de Secours aux Enfants, or Children’s Relief Organization[11], a clandestine group run by resistance fighters who had infiltrated the UGIF. This plan never saw the light of day, however, and on July 22, 1944, all of the children in the center, 34 children and 5 monitors, were taken away and then deported. Only three returned from Auschwitz.

Between July 20 and 22, eight UGIF homes were targeted during a series of roundups organized by Aloïs Brunner[12]. More than 345 children between the ages of 1 and 15, from children’s centers all over the Paris region, were arrested and transferred to the Drancy camp.

Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne were deported from Drancy to Auschwitz on July 31, on the last convoy, Convoy 77. It was a very long way. According to Denise Holstein’s account[13],  the journey took two and a half days. The two Vexler sisters were put in the same cattle car as the other children from Louveciennes, and the conditions were terrible: “There was no shortage of provisions, but of water, yes, there was. We were unable to swallow anything: we were all so thirsty. The children were crying, so we had to comfort them”.

The two girls were gassed as soon as they arrived, on August 2, 1944. Claude-Renée was 7 years and 8 months old and Marie-Anne Florica was 5 years and 2 months.

Drawing by Cassioppée Perraguin, a 12th grade student

 

Two lives cut short, two brief lives.

Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne Florica were thus assassinated by the Nazis because they were born Jewish. They were not given time to live their lives. Their names are on the commemorative plaques of the Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin War Memorial, the book of names at the Auschwitz-Birkenau National Museum and on the wall of names at the Shoah Memorial in Paris.

 

School trip to the National Museum of Auschwitz-Birkenau on November 28, 2019

 

The Shoah Memorial, January 21, 2020.

 

Looking at a photo of the two girls with Denise Holstein, taken in Louveciennes.

 

 

 

The return to everyday life, and the quest for recognition…. 

Iancu Vexler returned to Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin to resume his work. There he was reunited with his two young daughters, Hélène-Sarah and Jeanne-Marie.

In 1952 he remarried Aimée Barreau, with whom he had two more children, Catherine, born in 1951 and François-Ruben, born in 1957.

However, this return to everyday life also involved a long struggle with French authorities to have the crime committed against his wife Fajga and his two eldest daughters, Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne, recognized.

On May 1, 1959, Iancu Vexler sent a letter to the Minister of Veterans and War Victims to request death certificates for his two daughters. He also wanted the words “Mort pour la France”, meaning “Died for France” to be included on the death certificates. The Minister of Veterans Affairs then sent a letter to the Prefect of Seine-et-Marne on June 23, 1959 to ask for information on the two girls. On July 18, 1959, the Prefect replied in great detail about the circumstances of the arrest and disappearance of Iancu Vexler’s two daughters. The prefect noted that “the facts are well known in the region and that the arrest of the members of this family is unquestionably attributed to their religious origins”[14].

At around the same time, Dr. Vexler received a letter on June 23, 1959 from the Ministry of Veterans Affairs regarding his request for the death certificates and the words “Died for France” for his daughters. The Ministry informed him that it could not grant his request because it had no information on the date and place of the girls’ deaths. It would only be able to only issue missing persons’ certificates after an investigation had been carried out.

Dr. Vexler thus continued the battle. On July 3, 1960, he applied to the Ministry of Veterans and Victims of War asking for Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne to be recognized as “non-returnees”. On the form issued by the Ministry of Veterans and War Victims, it was noted that this was an application for “race-related deportees”, and that in this case the two girls had been arrested by an emissary of the Union of French Jews (acting on behalf of the Germans). It was not until April 22, 1961, that the mayor of Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin certified that Claude-Renée and Marie-Anne had not returned to Dr. Vexler’s home since the end of the war.

 

On April 26, 1961, the Department of Veterans and Victims of War sent Dr. Vexler two forms to apply for missing person’s certificates. He returned them on April 27, 1961 and received the documents on May 1, 1961, thus two years after his initial request. This enabled him to obtain a judgment pronouncing the girls’ deaths. Without this, the Minister of Veterans Affairs could not grant his request for the words “Mort pour la France”, meaning “Died for France ” to be written on their death certificates.

Once he had the missing persons’ certificates for the two girls, Dr. Vexler was able to refer the case to the Court of First Instance in order to obtain a judicial declaration of the death of his two daughters. He obtained a copy of the death certificate from the civil registry of the municipality of Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin on September 6, 1961.

On July 5, 1962, Dr. Vexler, who had been acknowledged as a political deportee, was naturalized as a French citizen[15].

He then continued his struggle to have his wife and daughters awarded the distinction “Died for France”. On April 26, 1979, he wrote a letter to the Ministry of Veterans and Victims of War, or more specifically the Directorate of Statutes and Medical Services, to which he sent the girls’ birth certificates, on which the declarations of their deaths were noted. He also enclosed the girls’ French nationality certificates. Claude-Renée had become French citizen according to Article 3 of the law of August 10, 1927, a declaration having been registered at the Ministry of Justice on December 8, 1938. Her sister had also become a French citizen according to a similar declaration registered at the Court of First Instance in Coulommiers on April 7, 1939.

The Department of Veterans Affairs wrote a letter to the mayor of Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin on July 11, 1979, in order to obtain a recent copy of the two judgments declaring the death of the two young girls. On July 17, 1979, the mayor sent copies of Claude-Renée’s and Marie-Anne Vexler’s birth certificates, mentioning that they had died in Poland on July 31, 1944, although this was in fact the date on which Convoy 77 left Bobigny station for Auschwitz.

On January 4, 1980 the mayor of Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin received notification from the Secretary of State for Veterans that he could write the words “Died for France” on the Vexler girls’ death certificates.

Thus, after many long years of effort, Dr. Vexler finally succeeded in having the words “Died for France” appear on the civil status records of his wife and daughters, who were murdered at Auschwitz.

Iancu Vexler died on June 12 1990, at the age of 83.

The War Memorial at Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin.

 

 

This is a dreadful story. A family’s life was shattered, simply because they were Jewish. Two children lived through horrific experiences, “guilty” only of having been born Jewish, in what is known as “the land of human rights”.

Arrests by the French gendarmerie, deportations from Drancy and mass murders, all carried out with no regard for nationality, gender or age.

And this long, very long struggle of a relentless father to restore the identities of his children, to name them, and to gain recognition for them in the town where they were born. All so that we never forget, that we shall never forget them, his daughters.

 

 

[1] Source Ajpn Anonymes, Justes et persécutés durant la période nazie.  Research carried out by Fréderic Viey, historian.

[2] Letter from the Prefect, dated July 23, 1959.

[3] Source Ajpn Anonymes, Justes et persécutés durant la période nazie. Research carried out by Fréderic Viey, historian. Dr. Vexler wrote an article about his daily life with the gypsies in Auschwitz-Birkenau: “J’étais médecin des Tsiganes à Auschwitz “, published in 1973 in the Monde Gitan, 1973 n°27 p. 1 à 10

[4] Les Vexler: une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Editions Terroirs

[5] Not Mrs. Couturon, as mentioned in the Prefect’s letter dated June 23, 1959. Information found in a letter from the Union Générale des Israélites de France dated November 12, 1944.

Source : Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Editions Terroirs, 2012.

[6] The General Union of the Israelites of France was created, at the instigation of the Germans, by a law of the Vichy government dated November 29, 1941.  The organization represented Jews and was responsible for social welfare; it paid allowances to households deprived of income and financed canteens and hospices. After the round-ups in the summer of 1942, it opened centers for Jewish children in Paris and the suburbs. There were UGIF homes on rue Lamarck, rue Vauquelin, rue des Rosiers, and in Louveciennes, La Varenne, Montreuil, Neuilly, Saint-Mandé.

[7] In Louveciennes, there existed a UGIF center where thirty-nine Jewish children were housed in an orphanage created in 1880 by Jules Beer. Following the round-ups initiated by Aloïs Brunner, the head of the Drancy camp, the Gestapo arrested all the children who had taken refuge in Louveciennes, together with their monitors, on July 22, 1944. There, one month before the Liberation, thirty-four children and five monitors were rounded up and taken to Drancy before being deported on the last large convoy to Auschwitz on July 31, 1944. SK (Editor) note: Denise Holstein recalls that there were two centers in Louveciennes: a large center, through which Charlotte Schuhmann and her friend also named Charlotte spent some time, and a smaller center, on the steps of which the children’s picture was taken. Denise remembers the children from the second home well, but says that these days that the first one was too big for her to remember.

[8] Denise Holstein was then a teenager, born in 1927. She arrived at the Louveciennes center in 1943. She was arrested on July 22, 1944 and deported by the last convoy to Auschwitz. She is one of the few survivors from this Jewish children’s center.

[9] “Je ne vous oublierai jamais, mes enfants d’Auschwitz”, Denise Holstein.

[10] Witness statement of Pierrette Grisel, taken by Ms. Gudelette, French National Archives, on June 20, 1946.

[11] The OSE was a Jewish organization created on October 28, 1912 to help children and provide medical assistance to persecuted Jews.

 

[12] Alois Brunner was a Nazi war criminal born on April 8, 1912 in Rohrbrunn, Austria. He took over the management of Drancy camp on July 2, 1943. In one year, he had more than 22,000 French Jews or Jews residing in France deported, i.e. 1/3 of all the Jews deported from France.

[13] Testimonial of Denise Holstein, published in 1992. Article in the newspaper Libération, April 20, 1999.

 

[14] Letter from the Prefect of Seine-et-Marne dated July 18, 1959 to the Minister of Veterans and Victims of War concerning Dr. Vexler, Stateless and holder of a “Privileged Resident” card.

[15] Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Editions Terroirs, 2012.

 

Image library

 

 

 

 

 

Marie-Anne VEXLER née le 17 octobre 1938 déportée de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.
VEXLER_Iancu_Fajer
VEXLER_dessin_ClaudeRenee_MarieAnne
VEXLER_inscription_Auschwitz-Birkenau_1
VEXLER_inscription_Auschwitz-Birkenau_2
VEXLER_inscription_Memorial_Mur_1
VEXLER_inscription_Memorial_MurEnfants
VEXLER_photo_Louveciennes_Denise_Holstein_enfants
VEXLER_monument_aux_morts_2
VEXLER_monument_aux_morts_1

Contributor(s)

12th grade students from the Combs la Ville high school, under the supervision of their history teachers, Coralie Surget and librarian Françoise Olhagaray.
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Marie-Anne VEXLER

1938 - 1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Marie-Anne Florica VEXLER

 sur la photo ci-contre, prise sur les marches de la villa de Louveciennes, Marie-Anne et sa sœur aînée Claude-Renée posent dans le groupe d’enfants avec leur monitrice Denise Hostein.

Une famille comme une autre…

Claude-Renée, née le 6 décembre 1936 et Marie-Anne Florica, née le 17 octobre 1938 à Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin (77 750), sont les filles du Docteur Iancu Vexler, né le 29 juillet 1907 à Husi en Roumanie, et de Fajga Vexler, née Elbaum le 23 janvier 1906 à Varsovie en Pologne.

Le couple habite au 14 rue de la Ferté-sous-Jouarre depuis 1936.

Après des études de médecine, Iancu ouvre un cabinet de généraliste à Saint-Cyr-sur–Morin.

Le couple a quatre filles. Claude-Renée, née en 1936, Marie-Anne Florica, née en 1938, Hélène-Sarah, née en 1940 et Jeanne-Marie, née en 1941.

Pendant la guerre, Iancu se porte volontaire comme soldat et incorpore la 4e Section de l’Infanterie le 9 juin 1940. Après l’armistice, il rentre à Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin où il exerce son métier de médecin généraliste.

Malgré les lois antisémites en France, notamment celle du 7 octobre 1940, visant à exclure de l’exercice de la médecine tous les médecins hospitaliers juifs, puis les lois du 2 juin et du 24 juin 1941, sur la limitation du nombre de médecins juifs exerçant par département, le docteur Vexler continue d’exercer dans la commune.

 Iancu et Fajga Vexler,

Photographie provenant de  l’ouvrage « Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre »

L’arrestation

Le 21 octobre 1942, des gendarmes français sous le commandement du maréchal des logis-chef Bonnet[1], arrivent au domicile et arrêtent le couple.

Cette date est connue comme étant une rafle importante en Seine-et-Marne où seront arrêtés 81 Juifs étrangers. Les époux sont envoyés à Drancy, puis déportés le 6 novembre 1942 à Auschwitz par le convoi 42. Les deux cadettes du couple, Hélène-Sarah, née en 1940 et Jeanne-Marie, née en 1941, sont confiées à Lucien Clément et sa femme, amis du couple. Elles seront cachées à la Croix-Verte, un hameau de la commune de Bassevelle, en Seine-et-Marne. En 1943, elles partent rejoindre leur grand-mère maternelle à Bussières[2], commune de Seine-et-Marne où elles vivront cachées jusqu’à la libération.

Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne se trouvent chez leur nourrice au Hameau de Mauroy, commune de Doue en Seine-et-Marne.

 

L’arrivée à Auschwitz

Le 11 novembre, à son arrivée à Auschwitz, Fajga est directement gazée. Elle n’a que 36 ans. Iancu est sélectionné sous le matricule 74154 pour travailler dans un sonderkommando. Le 2 juin 1943, il est affecté à l’hôpital de Birkenau aux côtés du docteur Josef Mengele, « l’ange de la mort »[3]  et devient le médecin des Tziganes. Il est libéré en mai 1945 par les troupes soviétiques[4].

 

 

Destin des filles aînées, Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne Florica

Lors de l’arrestation de leurs parents, Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne Florica sont en pension chez une nourrice, Mme Cauturon, à Mauroy[5], un hameau de Doue, à quelques kilomètres de Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin.

Mais dès septembre 1943, malgré les réticences de la nourrice, elles sont confiées à l’Union générale des Israélites de France (UGIF[6]). Après un passage au centre 28, rue Lamark à Paris, centre de tri pour enfants juifs, elles sont envoyées au centre 59 de Louveciennes[7], dans la banlieue ouest de Paris.

Elles y passent une année dans des conditions difficiles. Manque de nourriture, manque de soins, manque de vêtements, mais pas manque d’amour. Les deux fillettes sont prises en charge par Denise Holstein[8], adolescente de 17 ans, qui a la responsabilité de neuf jeunes enfants. Marie est une « merveilleuse petite fille pétillante » avec [des] grands yeux bleus et [des] cheveux noirs », selon Denise Holstein[9].

 

Les conditions de vie sont terribles et Pierrette Grisel, assistante sociale membre de la Croix Rouge, veut les exfiltrer[10]. Elle est membre de l’OSE[11], organisation clandestine animée par des résistants infiltrés dans les rangs de l’UGIF. Mais le projet ne voit pas le jour et le 22 juillet 1944, les enfants du centre, soit trente-quatre enfants, et cinq moniteurs sont déportés. Seuls trois reviendront d’Auschwitz.

Entre le 20 et le 22 juillet, huit foyers de l’UGIF sont touchés par la rafle organisée par Aloïs Brunner[12]. Plus de 345 enfants âgés de 1 an à 15 ans des centres pour enfants de la région parisienne sont arrêtés et déportés jusqu’au camp de Drancy.

Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne sont déportées vers Auschwitz le 31 juillet, lors du dernier convoi, le convoi 77. Le voyage est très long. D’après le témoignage de Denise Holstein [13], le voyage dure deux jours et demi. Les deux sœurs Vexler sont regroupées avec les enfants de Louveciennes dans le même wagon. Les conditions sont terribles : « le ravitaillement ne manque pas, mais l’eau si. Nous ne pouvions rien avaler : nous avions tous si soif. Les enfants pleuraient, il fallait les consoler ».

Les deux fillettes seront gazées dès leur arrivée, le 2 août 1944. Claude-Renée était âgée de 7 ans et 8 mois et Marie-Anne Florica de 5 ans et 2 mois.

Dessin réalisé par Cassioppée Perraguin, élève de TL

 

Deux vies fauchées, deux courtes vies.

Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne Florica sont donc assassinées par les nazis car elles sont nées juives. Elles n’ont pas eu le temps de vivre. Leurs noms sont présents sur les plaques commémoratives du monument aux Morts de Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin ainsi que sur les pages de noms au musée national d’Auschwitz-Birkenau et sur le mur des noms au Mémorial de la Shoah à Paris.

 

 

Musée National d’Auschwitz-Birkenau, visite avec les élèves le 28 novembre 2019

 

 

 

 

Mémorial de la Shoah, le 21 janvier 2020.

 

On peut voir les deux fillettes avec Denise Holstein au centre de Louveciennes.

 

 

Le retour à la vie… et à la reconnaissance.

 

Iancu Vexler regagne Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin pour y reprendre son travail. Il y retrouve ses deux petites filles, Hélène-Sarah et Jeanne-Marie.

En 1952 il se remarie avec Aimée Barreau avec qui il aura deux enfants. Catherine, née en 1951 et François-Ruben, né en 1957.

Mais ce retour à la vie passe par un long combat auprès des institutions françaises pour faire reconnaître le crime dont a été victime sa femme Fajga, et ses deux filles aînées, Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne.

Le 1er mai 1959, Iancu Vexler envoie une lettre au Ministre des anciens combattants et victimes de guerre pour obtenir les actes de décès de ses deux filles. Il veut également que la mention : « Morts pour la France » soit précisée sur les actes de décès. Le Ministère des anciens combattants adresse alors une lettre au préfet de Seine-et-Marne le 23 juin 1959 pour obtenir des informations sur les deux fillettes. Celui-ci lui répond le 18 juillet 1959 d’une façon très complète sur les circonstances de l’arrestation et de la disparition des deux filles de Iancu Vexler. Le préfet précise « que les faits sont notoirement connus dans la région et que l’arrestation des membres de cette famille est incontestablement attribuée à leur origine confessionnelle »[14].

Parallèlement, le docteur Vexler reçoit un courrier le 23 juin 1959 du Ministère des anciens combattants en réponse à sa demande d’obtenir des actes de décès et la mention « Morts pour la France » pour ses filles. Celui-ci l’informe qu’il ne peut répondre à sa demande car le Ministère ne dispose pas d’informations sur le lieu et la date du décès des deux fillettes. Seule une attestation de disparition peut être fournie après enquête.

Le docteur Vexler poursuit alors son combat. Il sollicite, dès le 3 juillet 1960 auprès du Ministère des anciens combattants et des victimes de guerre une demande de régularisation de l’état-civil d’un « non rentré » pour Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne. Sur le formulaire émanant du ministère des anciens combattants et victimes de guerre, il est notifié qu’il s’agit d’une demande pour un « déporté racial », et que celui-ci, ici les deux fillettes, ont été arrêtées par un émissaire de l’Union des Juifs de France (mandataire des Allemands). Mais ce n’est que le 22 avril 1961, que le maire de Saint-Cyr-sur–Morin atteste que Claude-Renée et Marie-Anne ne sont pas reparues au domicile du docteur Vexler depuis la fin de la guerre.

Le Ministère des anciens combattants et victimes de guerre va donc adresser le 26 avril 1961 deux formulaires de demande d’attestation de disparition au docteur Vexler. Celui-ci les renverra complétés le 27 avril 1961 et recevra les documents le 1er mai 1961, soit 2 ans après sa requête, ce qui lui permettra d’obtenir un jugement déclaratif de décès. Sans ce document, le Ministre des anciens combattants ne peut pas répondre positivement à la demande de notification « Morts pour la France ».

Une fois les attestations de disparition des deux fillettes obtenues, M. Vexler peut saisir le Tribunal de grande Instance afin d’obtenir la déclaration judiciaire du décès de ses deux filles. Il obtient la transcription du jugement de décès sur le registre de l’état civil de la commune de Saint-Cyr-sur–Morin le 06 septembre 1961.

Le 5 juillet 1962, le docteur Vexler, reconnu déporté politique, est naturalisé français.[15]

Il poursuit alors son combat pour que la mention « Morts pour la France » soit attribuée à sa femme et à ses filles. Le 26 avril 1979, il écrit un courrier au Ministère des anciens combattants et des victimes de guerre, plus précisément à la direction des statuts et des services médicaux où il adresse les extraits de naissance portant la déclaration de décès de ses filles. Il joint également les certificats de nationalité française des deux fillettes. Claude-Renée était française en application de l’article 3 de la loi du 10 Août 1927 (déclaration enregistrée au Ministère de la justice le 8 décembre 1938) et sa sœur par la même déclaration enregistrée au Tribunal de première Instance de Coulommiers le 7 avril 1939.

Le Ministère des anciens combattants rédige un courrier au maire de Saint-Cyr-sur–Morin le 11 juillet 1979 afin d’obtenir la retranscription des deux jugements déclaratifs de décès des deux fillettes. Le maire envoie le 17 juillet 1979 les extraits d’acte de naissance de Claude-Renée et de Marie-Anne Vexler avec la mention décédées en Pologne le 31 juillet 1944, date à laquelle le convoi 77 quitte la gare de Bobigny pour Auschwitz.

Le 4 janvier 1980 le maire de Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin reçoit la notification du secrétaire d’État aux anciens combattants qu’il peut inscrire « Morts pour la France » sur les actes de décès des deux filles Vexler.

Après de longues années de démarches, le docteur Vexler obtient que la mention : « Morts pour la France » figure sur les actes d’état-civil de ses filles et de sa femme, assassinées à Auschwitz.

Iancu Vexler meurt le 12 juin 1990 à l’âge de 83 ans.

Monument aux Morts de Saint-Cyr-sur-Morin.

Cette histoire est terrible. La vie d’une famille brisée parce qu’ils étaient juifs. Deux enfants qui ont vécu des choses horribles, « coupables » d’être nées juives, dans la patrie des droits de l’Homme. Des arrestations par la gendarmerie française, des déportations de Drancy, des assassinats de masse, quels que soient la nationalité, le sexe et l’âge.

Et ce long combat, très long combat d’un père acharné pour redonner une identité, un nom, une reconnaissance à ses filles dans la commune où elles sont nées. Pour qu’on n’oublie pas… pour qu’on ne les oublie pas.

[1] Source Ajpn Anonymes, Justes et persécutés durant la période nazie.  Recherches réalisées par Fréderic Viey, historien.

[2] Lettre du préfet du 23 juillet 1959.

[3] Source Ajpn Anonymes, Justes et persécutés durant la période nazie. Recherches réalisées par Fréderic Viey Le docteur Vexler a écrit un article qui raconte son quotidien auprès des Tsiganes d’Auschwitz-Birkenau : « J’étais médecin des Tsiganes à Auschwitz », paru en 1973 dans les pages du Monde Gitan, 1973 n°27 p. 1 à 10

[4] Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Editions Terroirs

[5] Et non Mme Couturon comme mentionné dans le courrier du préfet en date du 23 juin 1959. Information trouvée dans une lettre de l’Union Générale des Israélites de France en date du 12 novembre 1944.

Source : Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Éditions Terroirs, 2012.

[6] L’Union Générale des Israélites de France est créée, sur injonction des Allemands, par une loi du gouvernement de Vichy en date du 29 novembre 1941. L’organisation assure la représentation des Juifs et est chargée de l’action sociale ; elle verse des allocations aux foyers privés de revenus, finance les cantines populaires et les hospices. Après les rafles de l’été 1942, elle ouvre des centres pour enfants juifs à Paris et en banlieue (foyers de la rue Lamarck, de la rue Vauquelin, rue des Rosiers, et à Louveciennes, La Varenne, Montreuil, Neuilly, Saint-Mandé).

[7] À Louveciennes, il existe un centre de l’UGIF où trente-neuf enfants juifs sont hébergés dans un orphelinat créé en 1880 par Jules Beer. À la suite des rafles lancées par Aloïs Brunner, le chef du camp de Drancy, la Gestapo arrête le 22 juillet 1944 l’ensemble des enfants réfugiés à Louveciennes et leurs moniteurs. Là, à un mois de la Libération, trente-quatre enfants et cinq moniteurs et monitrices sont raflés pour être conduits à Drancy avant de prendre le dernier grand convoi pour Auschwitz, le 31 juillet 1944. Note SJ (éditeur) : Denise Holstein rapporte qu’il y eut deux centres à Louveciennes – un grand centre où passeront notamment Charlotte Schuhmann et son amie également prénommée Charlotte, puis un plus petit centre, sur les marches duquel la photo des enfants fut prise. Denise se souvient bien des enfants de la seconde maison, mais dit aujourd’hui que la première était trop grande pour qu’elle en garde le souvenir.

[8] Denise Holstein est alors une adolescente, née en 1927. Elle se trouve au centre de Louveciennes en 1943. Elle est arrêtée le 22 juillet 1944 et déportée par le dernier convoi vers Auschwitz. Elle est l’une des rares survivantes de ce centre pour enfants juifs.

[9] « Je ne vous oublierai jamais, mes enfants d’Auschwitz », Denise Holstein,

 

[10] Témoignage de Pierrette Grisel, recueilli par Mme Gudelette, Archives nationales, 20 juin 1946.

 

[11] L’OSE (Œuvre de Secours aux Enfants) est une association juive créée le 28 octobre 1912 destinée au secours des enfants et à l’assistance médicale aux juifs persécutés.

 

[12] Aloïs Brunner est un criminel de guerre nazi né le 8 avril 1912 à Rohrbrunn en Autriche. Il prend en main le camp de Drancy à partir du 2 juillet 1943. Il fait déporter en un an plus de 22 000 juifs français ou résidents en France, soit 1/3 des déportés juifs de France.

[13] Témoignage de Denise Holstein, publié en 1992. Article du journal Libération, le 20 avril 1999.

 

[14] Courrier du préfet de Seine-et-Marne en date du 18 juillet 1959 au Ministre des anciens combattants et victimes de guerre à propos du docteur Vexler, apatride et titulaire d’une carte de « Résident Privilégié »

[15] Les Vexler : une famille juive déchirée par la guerre. Éditions Terroirs, 2012.

 

Marie-Anne VEXLER née le 17 octobre 1938 déportée de Drancy le 31 juillet 1944 par le convoi n°77.
VEXLER_Iancu_Fajer
VEXLER_dessin_ClaudeRenee_MarieAnne
VEXLER_inscription_Auschwitz-Birkenau_1
VEXLER_inscription_Auschwitz-Birkenau_2
VEXLER_inscription_Memorial_Mur_1
VEXLER_inscription_Memorial_MurEnfants
VEXLER_photo_Louveciennes_Denise_Holstein_enfants
VEXLER_monument_aux_morts_2
VEXLER_monument_aux_morts_1

Contributeur(s)

Les élèves de Terminale L du lycée de Combs-la-Ville, sous la direction de leurs professeurs d'histoire, Coralie Surget, et documentaliste Françoise Olhagaray.
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?