Zofia BORENSZTEJN

1901 - 1944 |

Zofia BORENSZTEJN 1901-1944

Photo of Szlama and Zofia Borensztejn, from the Lanzmann family collection

 

 

Zofia Borensztejn’s life and family background were researched by a group of three 9th grade students from the French International High School in Vilnius, Lithuania, since several documents mention that Zofia Borensztejn was born in Vilnius.

During the Covid 19 lockdown, their history and geography teacher collected together some documents available on the Internet and made contact with Zofia Borensztejn’s great-granddaughter, Doris Lanzmann, as well as some other people who had documents and testimonials concerning Zofia’s daughter, Riva Boren. At the end of the lockdown, after returning to school, the group of students worked on the dossier of information thus collected and added some historical context to the biography.

 

Sources:

Numerous sources had to be searched in order to provide an overall picture of Zofia Borensztejn’s life:

  • the disappeared person’s file from the Defense Historical Service, Department of Veterans Affairs and War Victims, provided by the project organizers;
  • an extract from the Seine Police Prefecture’s filing register, provided by the project organizers;
  • the search log book from Drancy camp, available on the Shoah Memorial website;
  • the civil status and census registers, available on the Paris Archives office website;
  • the American Relief Mission’s December 1921 newsletter on Russia and Ukraine;
  • the genealogy websites ancestry.com and familysearch.org, which provide access to numerous documents on Zofia Borensztejn’s mother and sisters, who left for the United States after the Great War, as well as on Zofia Borensztejn’s and Riva Boren’s stays in America;
  • the autobiography of Jacques Lanzmann (who married Riva Boren in 1955) entitled Le Voleur de Hasards (1976);
  • the autobiography of the American writer Clancy Sigal, entitled The London Lover: My Weekend that Lasted Thirty Years (2019), of which a short chapter is dedicated Riva Boren;
  • Clancy Sigal’s 1956-1957 diary, several pages of which refer to his stay in Paris in 1956 and his meeting with Riva Boren. This is held at the Harry Ransom Center, the University Library in Austin, Texas, but an extract was kindly sent to us by Roberta Rubenstein, Professor of Literature at the University of Washington, author of Literary Half-Lives: Doris Lessing, Clancy Sigal, and Roman à Clef, which deals with the relationship between the writer and Riva Boren;
  • the Auschwitz camp register of serial numbers;
  • copies of photographs and two letters sent from Drancy by Zofia Borensztejn’s husband and son in 1942, generously sent to us by Riva Boren’s granddaughter and Zofia Borensztejn’s great-granddaughter, Doris Lanzmann;
  • testimonials from people who knew Riva Boren, thanks to the assistance of Laurence d’Ist, art historian.

 

Ukrainian Origins

Zofia Borensztejn was not in fact born in Vilnius but rather in Wolynsk, Ukraine, then in the Russian Empire, on March 4, 1901, under the maiden name Mandell/Mandelöl. This is what most of the French documents that we consulted state, despite some confusion at times between Wolynsk and Wolno/Wilno/Vilnius in Lithuania. We had no access to birth registers that could confirm this, but the Ukrainian origin is not in doubt given the number of documents found on the Mandell family on genealogy sites.

Zofia’s father’s name was Israël and he may have been a merchant. Her mother’s name was Mechlia/Mahlia. Zofia had three sisters: the eldest, Ita, was born around 1900, Mala was born on December 5, 1903 and Estera on June 1, 1905. In their naturalization records in the United States, the last two, who became Molly and Esther, claim to have been born in Zhitomir, in Volhynia, which is in the same region as Wolynsk, but they do not appear in the city’s Jewish birth records. It is likely, however, that the Mandell family lived there for some time. A family photograph that appears to date from the end of the First World War gives the impression of a rather well-off family.

The Mandell family, photograph from the Lanzmann family collection: Zofia is in the center, standing.

 

The escape

The once well-to-do family can be found in 1921, destitute and in mourning, the father having died, in a refugee camp in Rovno, which was still in Volhynia, but in a part of it that had by then become Polish. The JDC (the American Jew Joint Distribution Committee, founded in 1914 to help Jews all over the world) holds a record of a transfer of 300 dollars to Mahlia Mandell and her daughters in the camp, so that they could take the boat to the United States. This money had been sent by a relative, Morris Mandell, who had emigrated earlier.

The Mandell family was fleeing a turbulent situation: Ukraine had declared itself independent in 1917, but it was fighting against the Red Army (which eventually took control of the country in 1919-1920), as well as against the Polish army for control of border areas such as Volhynia. Pogroms were carried out by soldiers of all the armed forces involved, but it was Ukrainian soldiers, who accused the Jews of being supporters of the “reds”, who carried out the bloodiest massacres on an unprecedented scale: there were at least 35,000-50,000 deaths in Ukraine in 1918-1920, perhaps as many as 100,000, the pogroms having begun in Volhynia, where the Mandell family lived. In Zhitomir alone, several hundred people were killed in 1919. Was Israël killed during one of the pogroms? He is not included on any of the lists of victims, but the lists are not exhaustive.

According to reports by the JDC, the massacres prompted many Jews to flee, with some families hiding for weeks in the wilderness to escape the armed gangs. When the Polish army took over most of Western Volhynia, including Rovno, the JDC reports mention dozens of looted towns and villages, a Jewish population in abject poverty, and thousands of widows and orphans, such as the Mandell family.

The 1918-1920 pogroms in Ukraine, by Wojciech Winkler, CC0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=24946771

 

The Red Army’s takeover of Ukraine and the implementation of Bolshevik policies, such as the nationalization of companies, dealt the final blow, at least to wealthy families such as the Mandells. Thus, according to the American Relief Mission, the Rovno refugee camp was populated not only by Jews, but by members of the “intelligentsia”, the educated middle class, who fled the Bolshevik occupation of the Ukraine, at which time Rovno came under Polish control. Thousands of Jewish refugees and members of the “intelligentsia” were crowded into the camp, often in tents, suffering from hunger, exhaustion and disease, despite help from the Polish authorities.

Photographs of refugees in Rovno, from the JDC archives

 

A new life

With the money received from America, Mahlia and her daughters Estera and Mala set sail from Hamburg for the United States on May 30, 1922 and arrived in New York harbor on June 9. They were met by their relative, Morris Mandell, and moved to Boston, where Ita, the elder sister, joined them later. Until at least 1930, they lived in Boston, before moving to Manhattan, in New York City. Ita, who by this time was known as Edith, got married but was widowed soon afterwards, while her two sisters stayed with their mother until her death in 1948.

Zofia Mandell, however, did not go with them. She stayed behind and married a Warsaw man, Szlama Borensztejn. There are two possible explanations for their meeting: either Szlama visited the Rovno camp, perhaps on behalf of a Jewish aid organization, or Zofia and no doubt her sister Ita, before she went to the United States, left the refugee camp and went to Warsaw to look for work.

Pendant with photos of the Borensztejn couple, kept Riva Boren and now the Lanzmann family

 

In any case, Zofia and Szlama Borensztejn, once married, left for France at the beginning of the 1920s, as part of a mass exodus during the inter-war period, which included several Borensztejns from Warsaw: an exodus to the “City of Light, a city whose dazzling signs had attracted those fleeing “l’Europe de ténébres”, or “Europe of darkness”, as Jacques Lanzmann called it in his 1976 book Le Voleur de Hasards (The Thief of Chances) about Zofia Borensztejn’s family. A “Europe of darkness”, marked by anti-Jewish violence, including that in Poland, in Warsaw.

In Paris, Zofia and Szlama had two children: Bernard, who was born on September 28, 1923, when his parents were living the suburbs, at 59, allée des Aldes in Pavillons-sous-Bois, and then Riva, born on August 13, 1926, by which time the family had moved to Paris and lived at 10 rue du Pressoir, in the 20th district of the city. On 2 February 1929, Zofia and Szlama “remarried” at the Town Hall of the 20th district, in order for their union to be legally recognized by the French authorities. As from 1931, the family was registered at 130, rue Saint-Denis, in the 2nd district, but without Riva, who had possibly been sent to the countryside for a while for health reasons.

The Borensztejns, immigrants who probably had limited means to begin with, did not settle in the most exclusive of neighborhoods. The rue Saint-Denis is notorious for prostitution on its sidewalks.  This did not stop the family from starting a business, however. Szlama was an embroidery merchant and Zofia was a seamstress, and, according to reports about their daughter Riva, they had a sewing workshop called the “Atelier de couture d’Odessa”, the “Odessa Sewing Workshop”. A tribute, no doubt, to Zofia’s Ukrainian roots, the port of Odessa having a greater appeal to customers than Zhitomir or Wolynsk. The photographs sent to us by Zofia’s great-granddaughter portray a rather well-to-do family that could afford a holiday by the sea. In addition, Zofia Borensztejn travelled to the United States at least twice to visit her family, in 1929 with her children, and again in 1939. We also know from Jacques Lanzmann’s memoirs that after the war Riva wanted to write a book about Beethoven, dedicated to her father Szlama: we can therefore surmise that he had a taste for classical music, and perhaps a gramophone at home.

Zofia Borensztejn (in the white dress) with her loved ones at the beach, in the thirties. Photograph from the Lanzmann family collection.

 

In addition, census data and letters written by Bernard from Drancy in 1944 reveal French forms of first names and the use of the French language: Zofia became Sonia, Szlama became Salomon or Michel, and Riva was Rosette. There appears to have been a clear desire to integrate into French society: in 1932, Zofia Borensztejn was naturalized as a French citizen, by a decree dated 12 January, probably at the same time as her husband.

 

A family torn apart

Despite this desire to integrate, the family was badly affected by anti-Jewish persecution under the Vichy regime and the Occupying army. Szlama and Bernard were arrested and deported in 1942, on Convoy 3 to Auschwitz on June 22, at a time when the police only rounded up the men. It was not until the Vel-d’Hiv round-up on July 16 and 17, 1942 that the round-ups were extended to include women and children.

On June 13, from Drancy, Bernard and Szlama each wrote letters to “Sonia” and “Rosette”, asking for clothes, a penknife, soap, and “some photos, have them take pictures of you and send us your photos and pictures, as many as possible”. Szlama tried to reassure his wife: “Sonia, don’t worry, we are healthy, be calm and brave, because it will give us more courage and we are not [worried]. Bernard does some exercise and it gives him a good appetite.” Bernard confirmed that he was “in good spirits and in good health too.” One of Bernard’s friends, Roger, who he met up with in Drancy, added: “Don’t worry, Bernard stays beside me and he’s in good spirits, and his father is too. We must have courage, we’re nearing the end.”

Letters from Drancy, held by the Lanzmann family

 

Both Bernard and Szlama were both given identity numbers at Auschwitz, which means that they would have been tattooed upon arrival and subjected to forced labor, so not gassed immediately. Nevertheless, they both died in August 1942, Bernard on the 3rd and Szlama on the 11th. On the Convoy 3 list, Bernard is listed as a “bookkeeper” and his father only as a “travelling salesman”, which would suggest that his workshop had been looted, or “Aryanized”.

Zofia and Riva, meanwhile, were subjected to a double drama, as the men’s arrest took place at the very moment when the wearing of the yellow star became compulsory, on Sunday June 7, 1942. Bernard mentioned this in his letter to Riva, sent from Drancy: “On Sunday, the first day of the star, Rosette, tell me what happened in Paris and what is happening now. I hope you’re good to Mommy.” This second aspect, the wearing of the star, was so traumatic that Riva Borensztejn kept hers all her life.

Riva Boren’s yellow star, held by the Lanzmann family

 

Zofia was arrested two years later, on the morning of July 27th. On the 28th, she was sent to Drancy, where the search book states that she had 143 francs on her. This was a modest amount compared to other deportees (one franc in 1944 would be worth 20 cents today).

On July 31, Zofia was sent to Auschwitz on Convoy 77. The French Official Journal of 19 May 2019 gives August 5 as the date of her death, but this is an arbitrary date. The authorities chose to use the 5th day after the departure of the convoy as the date of death of all deportees if there are no documents to prove otherwise. In fact, the majority of the deportees were sent to the gas chambers as soon as they arrived, on August 3.

 

The mystery of Riva Borensztejn

Only the daughter, Riva, survived the Holocaust. Thanks to the autobiographical works of her future husband, Jacques Lanzmann, and the American writer Clancy Sigal, as well as his typewritten diary, we know that Riva Borensztejn went into hiding to escape arrest and to stay alive. Riva took refuge in various attics and toilets, and then joined a “gang” of young street girls, who played a part in the Liberation of Paris. Riva, while carrying some ammunition, reportedly escaped the machine-gun fire by hiding under a broken-down tank.

But when did Riva go into hiding? According to Jacques Lanzmann and Clancy Sigal, it was at the time of the arrest “of her parents” when she was fourteen years old, whereas in fact her parents were not both arrested at the same time, and Riva was sixteen in 1942 and eighteen in 1944. But both writers refer to a fairly long period of living a clandestine life, which suggests that Riva went into hiding long before her mother’s arrest: Clancy Sigal mentions the year 1943.

In fact, according to the accounts of several people who knew her, Riva and her mother had quarreled because Zofia wanted to be arrested so that she could be reunited with her husband and in particular her son Bernard, whom she adored. Zofia reportedly took risks in order to be noticed by the police, and Riva then felt in danger, so left the family home. Nevertheless, other accounts mention an ongoing relationship between mother and daughter that continued until Zofia was arrested. Zofia is said to have accompanied Riva to a bus stop on the morning of July 27, 1944, because she had to go into hospital. When she came out, Riva reportedly watched from afar, hidden in a park, and witnessed her mother’s arrest.

 

Riva Boren after the war: “the undead past”

After the war, Riva joined her aunts and grandmother in New York in 1946. According to Clancy Sigal, she worked as a singer in night clubs and as a model for fashion photographers. She also began to study Fine Arts there.

In 1949, Riva returned to Paris to continue her studies at the Grande Chaumière Academy, but returned to New York in 1951 to marry a fellow student at the academy, the American painter Eugen Roy Witten. The marriage did not last long, however, and in 1952, Riva returned to France. She became an artist under the name Riva Boren, working in the sculptor Ossip Zedkine’s studio before becoming a painter. Riva Boren mixed in artistic circles in Montparnasse, where she met Jacques Lanzmann, whom she married in 1955.

Riva Borensztejn as a Fine Arts student in Paris, photograph from the Lanzmann family collection

Jacques Lanzmann was a writer, journalist and future lyricist of the singer Jacques Dutronc. He owed much of his literary success to Simone de Beauvoir, the great existentialist writer and feminist, author of The Second Sex. Incidentally, Simone de Beauvoir allowed Jacques and Riva Lanzmann to live in her former apartment at 11, rue de la Bûcherie.

Simone de Beauvoir was in a relationship with Jean-Paul Sartre, the great philosopher of existentialism, human freedom and commitment, and they became an iconic couple. Riva and Jacques Lanzmann were both active in the Communist Party and took part in the demonstrations against the Algerian war. Jacques’ brother, Claude Lanzmann, later directed “Shoah” the epic ten-hour documentary about the Holocaust, in 1976-1981. It was this piece that brought together numerous eyewitness accounts and photographs taken at places where the genocide took place (without using period images), which made the word “Shoah” synonymous with “Holocaust” or “Final Solution”.

Riva and Jacques Lanzmann had a son, but only stayed together for two years.

Both Jacques Lanzmann and Clancy Sigal remember Riva Boren at that time as an extremely beautiful young woman, who made a strong impression but was deeply traumatized by the deportation of her family. Jacques Lanzmann described her as “wounded to death and bereaved forever” while for Clancy Sigal she was the embodiment of the “undead past”. In his 2016 book, A London Lover: My Weekend that Lasted Thirty Years, he wrote “France’s années noires never ended for her”.

However, later on, Riva Boren was deeply marked by a trip to Asia, in particular Nepal, in 1972, where she met some Tibetan refugees and found herself wandering among them. This trip greatly influenced her work, causing her to abandon canvas for kraft paper and pastels. The figures depicted in her work were often faceless, nostalgic, as if keeping a secret, inviting observers to embark on a spiritual journey into the depths their soul.

Riva Boren died in 1995.

Contributor(s)

Three 9th grade students from the French International high school in Vilnius, Lithuania, under the guidance of their teacher, Yvan Leclère.

 

couple-e1593012487800
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Mandell_family
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Ukraine_pogroms
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_ROVNO_refugees
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_pendant_couple
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_beach_in_white_with loved_ones
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_end_letters
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_end_letters_contd
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_yellow_star_Riva_Boren
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Riva_Boren_artist
AfficheShoahBAT4.indd

Contributor(s)

Trois élèves de la classe de 3e du lycée international français de Vilnius, Lituanie, sous la direction du professeur, Yvan Leclère.
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Zofia BORENSZTEJN

1901 - 1944 |

Zofia BORENSZTEJN

1901-1944

Ci-contre, Szlama et Zofia Borensztejn, documents de la famille Lanzmann

 

 

La vie de Zofia Borensztejn et le parcours de sa famille ont été étudiés par un groupe de trois élèves de 3ème du Lycée International Français de Vilnius, en Lituanie, car sur plusieurs documents Zofia Borensztejn était indiquée comme étant née à Vilnius.

Pendant le confinement le professeur d’Histoire-Géographie de la classe a collecté les documents disponibles sur Internet et a pris contact avec l’arrière-petite-fille de Zofia Borensztejn, Doris Lanzmann, ainsi qu’avec d’autres personnes disposant de documents et de témoignages concernant la fille de Zofia, Riva Boren. A la fin du confinement puis après le retour en classe, le groupe d’élèves a travaillé sur le dossier ainsi constitué, puis ajouté des éléments de contextualisation historique à la biographie.

 

Sources:

Il a fallu consulter de nombreuses sources pour obtenir une vision d’ensemble de la vie de Zofia Borensztejn:

  • le dossier disparition du ministère des Anciens Combattants et des Victimes de Guerre, conservé par le SHD et transmis par les organisateurs du projet;
  • un extrait du registre de dépôt de la préfecture de police de la Seine, transmis par les organisateurs du projet;
  • le carnet de fouille de Drancy, accessible sur le site Internet du Mémorial de la Shoah;
  • les registres d’Etat civil et de recensement, accessibles sur le site des archives de Paris;
  • les archives du JDC (American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee), aussi accessibles sur Internet;
  • le bulletin de l’American Relief Mission de décembre 1921 consacré à la Russie et à l’Ukraine;
  • les sites de généalogie ancestry.com et familysearch.org, qui donnent accès à de nombreux documents sur la mère et les soeurs de Zofia Borensztejn, parties aux Etats-Unis après la Grande Guerre, ainsi que sur les séjours effectués par Zofia Borensztejn et Riva Boren en Amérique;
  • l’autobiographie de Jacques Lanzmann (qui a épousé Riva Boren en 1955) Le Voleur de Hasards (1976);
  • le livre autobiographique de l’écrivain américain Clancy Sigal The London Lover: My Weekend that Lasted Thirty Years (2019), dont un court chapitre est consacré à Riva Boren;
  • le journal tenu par Clancy Sigal en 1956-1957, dont plusieurs pages concernent son séjour à Paris en 1956 et sa rencontre avec Riva Boren – il est conservé au Harry Ransom Center, bibliothèque universitaire d’Austin au Texas, mais un extrait nous a gentiment été envoyé par Roberta Rubenstein, professeur de Littérature à l’Université de Washington, auteur de Literary Half-Lives: Doris Lessing, Clancy Sigal, and Roman à Clef, qui aborde notamment la relation entre l’écrivain et Riva Boren;
  • le registre des matricules d’Auschwitz;
  • une copie de photographies et de deux lettres envoyées de Drancy par le mari et le fils de Zofia Borensztejn en 1942, généreusement envoyée par la petite fille de Riva Boren et arrière-petite-fille de Zofia Borensztejn, Doris Lanzmann;
  • des témoignages de personnes qui ont connu Riva Boren, grâce à l’entremise de Laurence d’Ist, historienne de l’Art.

 

Des origines ukrainiennes

En fait Zofia Borensztejn ne serait pas née à Vilnius mais plutôt à Wolynsk, en Ukraine, dans l’empire russe de l’époque, le 4 mars 1901, sous le nom de jeune fille Mandell/Mandelöl. C’est ce qu’affirment la plupart des documents français consultés, malgré une confusion parfois entre Wolynsk et Wolno/Wilno/Vilnius en Lituanie. Nous n’avons pas eu accès aux registres de naissances qui pourraient le confirmer, mais l’origine ukrainienne ne fait aucun doute du fait des nombreux documents trouvés sur la famille Mandell sur les sites de généalogie.

Le père de Zofia s’appelait Israël et était peut-être commerçant. Sa mère s’appelait Mechlia/Mahlia. Zofia a eu trois soeurs: l’aînée Ita née vers 1900, puis Mala née le 5 décembre 1903 et Estera née le 1er juin 1905. Dans leur dossier de naturalisation aux Etats-Unis, les deux dernières, devenues Molly et Esther, affirment être nées à Zhitomir, dans la même région que Wolynsk – la Volhynie – mais on ne les retrouve pas dans les registres de naissance juifs de cette ville. Il est par contre probable que la famille Mandell y a vécu un certain temps. Une photographie de famille qui semble dater de la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale donne l’impression d’une famille plutôt aisée.

La famille Mandell, photographie conservée par la famille Lanzmann: Zofia est debout au centre.

 

La fuite

Famille autrefois aisée, on la retrouve en 1921 privée de tout et en deuil – le père est décédé – dans un camp de réfugiés à Rovno, toujours en Volhynie, mais dans une partie devenue polonaise. Le JDC (American Jew Joint Distribution Committee, fondée en 1914 pour aider les Juifs du monde entier) garde la trace d’un transfert de 300 dollars pour Mahlia Mandell et ses filles dans ce camp, afin qu’elles puissent prendre le bateau pour les Etats-Unis. Cet argent est envoyé par un parent, Morris Mandell, qui a émigré plus tôt.

La famille Mandell fuit un contexte troublé: l’Ukraine a déclaré son indépendance en 1917, mais se bat aussi bien contre l’Armée rouge – qui finit par prendre le contrôle du pays en 1919-1920 – que contre l’armée polonaise pour le contrôle de régions frontalières comme la Volhynie. Des soldats de toutes les forces armées en présence se sont livrés à des pogroms, mais ce sont des soldats ukrainiens, qui accusent les Juifs d’être des partisans des “rouges”, qui ont perpétré les massacres les plus sanglants, d’une ampleur jusque-là inégalée: on compte au moins 35 000-50 000 morts en Ukraine en 1918-1920, peut-être 100 000, les pogroms ayant d’abord éclaté en Volhynie, où la famille Mandell habitait. Rien qu’à Zhitomir, il y a eu plusieurs centaines de personnes tuées en 1919. Israël a-t-il été tué au cours d’un pogrom? On ne le retrouve pas parmi les listes de victimes, mais celles-ci ne sont pas exhaustives.

D’après les rapports du JDC, les massacres ont provoqué un mouvement de fuite chez les Juifs, certaines familles se cachant pendant des semaines dans la nature pour échapper aux bandes armées. Quant l’armée polonaise occupe la plus grande partie de la Volhynie occidentale dont Rovno, les rapports du JDC évoquent des dizaines de villes et de villages pillés, une population juive dans une misère noire, et des milliers de veuves et d’orphelins… comme la famille Mandell.

Les pogroms de 1918-1920 en Ukraine, par Wojciech Winkler, CC0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=24946771

La conquête de l’Ukraine par l’Armée rouge et l’application des mesures bolcheviques, comme la nationalisation des entreprises, apportent le coup de grâce, en tout cas aux familles plutôt aisées comme les Mandell. Ainsi, d’après l’American Relief Mission, le camp de réfugiés de Rovno est rempli de membres de “l’intelligentsia”, de la classe moyenne éduquée, pas seulement juive, qui ont fui la conquête de l’Ukraine par les Bolcheviks, alors que Rovno est passée sous contrôle polonais. Des milliers de réfugiés juifs et de membres de “l’intelligentsia” s’y entassent, souvent sous les tentes, souffrant de la faim, d’épuisement et de maladies, malgré l’aide des autorités polonaises.

Photographies de réfugiés à Rovno, archives du JDC

 

Une nouvelle vie

Grâce à l’argent reçu d’Amérique, la mère Mahlia et ses filles Estera et Mala prennent le bateau pour les Etats-Unis à Hambourg le 30 mai 1922 et arrivent dans le port de New York le 9 juin. Elles sont accueillies par un parent, Morris Mandell, et sont installées à Boston, où la soeur aînée Ita finit par les rejoindre. Jusqu’en 1930 au moins, elles vivent à Boston, avant de déménager à New York, à Manhattan. Ita, devenue Edith, s’est mariée mais est rapidement devenue veuve, tandis que ses deux autres soeurs sont toujours restées avec leur mère jusqu’à sa mort en 1948.

Cependant Zofia Mandell ne les a pas suivies. Elle s’est mariée avec un homme de Varsovie, Szlama Borensztejn. Deux hypothèses sur leur rencontre: soit Szlama a visité le camp de Rovno, peut-être pour le compte d’une organisation juive d’entraide, soit Zofia et sans doute sa soeur Ita (partie plus tard aux Etats-Unis) ont quitté le camp de réfugiés et sont montées à Varsovie pour y trouver un travail.

Pendentif représentant les époux Borensztejn, conservé par Riva Boren puis la famille Lanzmann

En tout cas, Zofia et Szlama Borensztejn, une fois mariés, sont partis en France, dès le début des années 1920, dans un mouvement d’exode assez massif pendant l’Entre-deux-guerres et qui concerne plusieurs Borensztejn de Varsovie: un exode vers la “Ville Lumière, une ville dont les enseignes éblouissantes avaient attiré ceux qui fuyaient l’Europe des ténèbres” (Jacques Lanzmann, Le Voleur de Hasards, 1976, à propos de la famille de Zofia Borensztejn). “Europe des ténèbres” marquée par des violences anti-juives, y compris en Pologne, à Varsovie.

A Paris, Zofia et Szlama ont eu deux enfants: Bernard, né le 28 septembre 1923, alors que ses parents résidaient dans la banlieue Est, à Pavillons-sous-Bois, au 59 allée des Aldes; puis Riva, née le 13 août 1926, alors que la famille avait déjà déménagé à Paris au 10 rue du Pressoir, dans le vingtième arrondissement. Le 2 février 1929, Zofia et Szlama se sont “remariés” à la mairie du XXème arrondissement de Paris, pour que leur union soit reconnue par les autorités françaises. A partir de 1931, la famille est recensée au 130 rue Saint-Denis, dans le deuxième arrondissement, mais sans Riva, peut-être envoyée quelques temps à la campagne pour raisons de santé.

Les Borensztejn, migrants disposant sans doute de peu de moyens au départ, ne s’installent pas dans un des quartiers les plus chics de la capitale: la rue Saint-Denis est réputée pour la prostitution qui anime ses trottoirs. Mais cela n’empêche pas la famille de développer ses affaires: Szlama est commerçant brodeur, Zofia couturière, et d’après les témoignages concernant leur fille Riva, ils avaient un atelier de couture qui s’appelait “atelier de couture d’Odessa”. Un hommage sans doute aux racines ukrainiennes de Zofia, le port d’Odessa ayant un pouvoir évocateur plus fort pour la clientèle que Zhitomir ou Wolynsk. Les photographies transmises par l’arrière-petite-fille de Zofia montrent l’image d’une famille plutôt aisée, qui peut s’offrir des vacances au bord de la mer. De plus, Zofia Borensztejn s’est rendue au moins deux fois aux Etats-Unis pour rendre visite à sa famille, en 1929 avec ses enfants, puis en 1939. On sait aussi grâce, aux mémoires de Jacques Lanzmann, qu’après la guerre Riva voulait rédiger un livre sur Beethoven, dédié à son père Szlama: on devine ainsi qu’un goût prononcé pour la musique classique, peut-être un gramophone à la maison…

Zofia Borensztejn (en robe blanche) avec des proches au bord de la mer dans les années trente, photographie conservée par la famille Lanzmann

D’autre part, les données des recensements et les lettres écrites par Bernard de Drancy en 1944 prouvent une francisation des prénoms et une utilisation courante de la langue française: Zofia devient Sonia, Szlama Salomon ou Michel, et Riva Rosette. Il y a une volonté claire de s’intégrer dans la société française: en 1932, Zofia Borensztejn est naturalisée française (décret du 12 janvier), sans doute en même temps que son mari.

 

La déchirure

Malgré ce désir d’intégration, la famille est durement touchée par les persécutions anti-juives sous la France de Vichy et l’Occupation. Szlama et Bernard sont arrêtés et déportés dès 1942 (convoi 3 pour Auschwitz du 22 juin 1942), à une époque où la police ne raflait que les hommes: ce n’est qu’à partir de la rafle du Vel-d’Hiv des 16 et 17 juillet 1942 que les rafles ont été élargies aux femmes et aux enfants.

Le 13 juin, Bernard et Szlama envoient deux lettres de Drancy à “Sonia” et “Rosette”, pour demander des vêtements, un canif, du savon, et “des photos, faitent vous photographier et envoyez-nous vos photos et des photos le plus possible”. Szlama tente de rassurer sa femme: “Sonia ne te fait pas de mauvais sang on est en bonne santé soit calme et courageuse car ça nous donnera plus de courage et on s’en fait pas. Bernard fait du sport et ça lui donne bon appétit.” Bernard confirme: “le moral est bon la santé aussi”. Un ami de Bernard retrouvé à Drancy, Roger, ajoute: “Ne vous inquiétez pas, Bernard reste avec moi et il a bon moral son père aussi. Il faut avoir du courage nous approchons de la fin.”

Lettres de Drancy, conservées par la famille Lanzmann

Bernard et Szlama ont tous les deux reçu un matricule à Auschwitz, ce qui signifie qu’ils ont été tatoués à leur arrivée, soumis au travail forcé, et non pas immédiatement gazés. Ils sont néanmoins tous les deux morts dès le mois d’août 1942, Bernard le 3 puis Szlama le 11. Sur les listes du convoi 3, Bernard est indiqué comme “aide-comptable” et son père comme “marchand forain” seulement, ce qui semble montrer que son atelier a été spolié, “aryanisé”.

Zofia et Riva subissent un double drame, l’arrestation des hommes ayant lieu au moment même où le port de l’étoile jaune devient obligatoire le dimanche 7 juin 1942, comme le mentionne Bernard à Riva dans sa lettre de Drancy: “Pour Dimanche le premier jour de l’étoile Rosette raconte moi ce qui c’est passé à Paris et ce qui si passe j’espère que tu es sage avec maman.” Ce deuxième élément a été si traumatisant que Riva Borensztejn a conservé son étoile jaune toute sa vie.

L’étoile jaune de Riva Boren, conservée par la famille Lanzmann

Zofia est arrêtée deux ans plus tard, le 27 juillet dans la matinée. Le 28, elle est envoyée à Drancy, où le carnet de fouille indique qu’elle a avec elle 143 francs, ce qui est une somme modique en comparaison avec les autres déportés (un franc en 1944 vaudrait aujourd’hui 0,17 euro). Le 31 juillet, Zofia fait partie du convoi 77 envoyé à Auschwitz. Le Journal Officiel du 19 mai 2019 indique le 5 août comme date de décès, mais c’est une date arbitraire, le 5ème jour après le départ du convoi étant choisi par les autorités comme date de décès en l’absence de documents. En fait, la majorité des déportés ont été envoyés dans les chambres à gaz dès leur arrivée le 3 août.

 

Le mystère Riva Borensztejn

Seule la fille Riva a survécu à l’Holocauste. Grâce aux ouvrages autobiographiques de son futur mari Jacques Lanzmann et de l’américain Clancy Sigal, ainsi qu’au journal dactylographié de ce dernier, nous savons que Riva Borensztejn s’est cachée pour échapper aux arrestations et survivre.  Riva s’est ainsi réfugiée dans les greniers, dans des toilettes, puis a intégré un “gang” de jeunes filles des rues qui aurait joué un rôle pendant la Libération de Paris: Riva, transportant des munitions, aurait échappé à la mitraille en se cachant sous un tank hors service.

Mais quand Riva s’est-elle cachée? Au moment de l’arrestation “de ses parents” et alors qu’elle avait quatorze ans d’après Jacques Lanzmann et Clancy Sigal… alors que ses parents n’ont pas été arrêtés au même moment, et que Riva avait seize ans en 1942 et dix-huit en 1944. Mais les deux écrivains font référence à une période de clandestinité assez longue, ce qui laisse penser que Riva est passée à la clandestinité bien avant l’arrestation de sa mère: Clancy Sigal évoque l’année 1943.

En fait, d’après le témoignage de plusieurs personnes qui l’ont fréquentée, Riva et sa mère se seraient disputées, car Zofia souhaitait se faire arrêter à son tour pour pouvoir rejoindre son mari et surtout son fils Bernard qu’elle adorait. Zofia aurait ainsi pris des risques pour se faire remarquer par la police, et Riva se serait alors sentie en danger et aurait quitté le logement familial. Néanmoins, d’autres témoignages parlent d’une relation maintenue avec Zofia jusqu’à son arrestation, Zofia l’accompagnant à un arrêt de bus le matin même du 27 juillet 1944, Riva se rendant alors à l’hôpital, avant d’assister de loin à son retour, cachée dans un parc, à l’arrestation de sa mère.

 

Riva Boren après la guerre: « the undead past »

Après la guerre, Riva a rejoint ses tantes et sa grand-mère à New York en 1946. D’après Clancy Sigal, elle a travaillé comme chanteuse dans des night clubs et comme modèle de photographes de mode. Elle a aussi commencé à étudier sur place les Beaux Arts.

En 1949, Riva est revenue à Paris pour poursuivre ses études à l’Académie de la Grande Chaumière, mais est retournée à New York en 1951 pour s’y marier avec un autre étudiant de cette académie, le peintre américain Eugen Roy Witten. L’union n’a pas duré longtemps: dès 1952, Riva revient en France. Elle devient une artiste sous le nom de Riva Boren, travaillant dans l’atelier de sculpture d’Ossip Zedkine avant de devenir peintre. Riva Boren fréquente le milieu artistique de Montparnasse, où elle rencontre Jacques Lanzmann qu’elle épouse en 1955.

Riva Borensztejn étudiant les Beaux Arts à Paris, photographie de la famille Lanzmann

Jacques Lanzmann est un écrivain, journaliste, futur parolier du chanteur Jacques Dutronc. Il doit en grande partie les débuts de sa carrière littéraire à Simone de Beauvoir, la grande écrivaine existentialiste et auteur féministe du Deuxième Sexe. D’ailleurs, Simone de Beauvoir laisse Jacques et Riva Lanzmann s’installer dans son ancien logement 11, rue de la Bûcherie.

Simone de Beauvoir forme un couple mythique avec Jean-Paul Sartre, le grand philosophe de l’existentialisme, de la liberté humaine et de l’engagement. Riva et Jacques Lanzmann militent d’ailleurs tous les deux au parti communiste, et participent aux mobilisations contre la guerre d’Algérie. De son côté, le frère de Jacques, Claude Lanzmann, réalisera en 1976-1981 le grand documentaire de presque dix heures Shoah sur l’Holocauste: c’est cette oeuvre, rassemblant de nombreux témoignages et de prises de vues sur les lieux du génocide (sans images d’époque), qui a fait du mot “Shoah” le synonyme d’ “Holocauste” ou de “Solution Finale”.

Riva et Jacques Lanzmann ont eu un fils mais ne sont restés ensemble que deux ans.

De la Riva Boren de cette époque, Jacques Lanzmann tout comme Clancy Sigal ont gardé le souvenir d’une jeune femme extrêmement belle, faisant forte impression, mais profondément traumatisée par la déportation de sa famille, “blessée à mort et endeuillée à jamais” pour Jacques Lanzmann, incarnation du “undead past” pour Clancy Sigal: “France’s années noires never ended for her” (A London Lover, 2016).

Néanmoins, par la suite, Riva Boren a été profondément marquée par un voyage en Asie en 1972, au Népal notamment, à la rencontre de réfugiés tibétains dans l’errance desquels elle s’est retrouvée. Ce voyage a beaucoup influencé ses oeuvres, lui faisant abandonner la toile pour le papier kraft et les pastels. Les figures représentées sont souvent sans visages, nostalgiques et porteuses d’un secret, invitant le spectateur à un voyage spirituel au plus profond de lui-même.

Riva Boren est décédée en 1995.

couple-e1593012487800
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Mandell_family
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Ukraine_pogroms
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_ROVNO_refugees
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_pendant_couple
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_beach_in_white_with loved_ones
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_end_letters
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_end_letters_contd
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_yellow_star_Riva_Boren
75604-BORENSZTEJN-Zofia_Riva_Boren_artist
AfficheShoahBAT4.indd

Contributeur(s)

Trois élèves de la classe de 3° du lycée international français de Vilnius, Lituanie, sous la direction du professeur, Yvan Leclère.
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?