Dora BRODSKY

1913 - 1991 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence:

Dora Brodsky, born Choel (1916-1991)

This photo, probably taken after the war, is from the private collection of Gérard Trokiner, Dora’s nephew.

This biography is the result of a collaborative workshop project carried out in 2019 and 2020 by students from the Alexandre-Dumas high school in Saint-Cloud, to the west of Pairs. In addition to the file of documents provided by the Convoy 77 project team, the biography is based on consultation of the archives of the Police Headquarters, the civil registers in Saint-Cloud and Paris and an interview with Gérard Trokiner, Dora Brodsky’s nephew. Fortunée Choel’s correspondence is published in the Mémorial des vingt-quatre élèves juives du lycée Jules-Ferry déportées pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (Memorial of the twenty-four Jewish students from the Jules-Ferry high school deported during the Second World War )(1942-1944), published in 2015 under the supervision of Monique Epelbaum.

 

Dora Choel was born on May 15, 1916 in Salonika (currently Thessaloniki), in Greece. She was the daughter of Salomon Abraham Choel, a traveling merchant who was born in 1889 and Riquetta Magriso, born in 1888. Dora emigrated to France with her entire family, that is to say her parents, sisters and brother, to seek asylum at a time when anti-Semitic repression was becoming ever more frequent. Although their date of arrival in France remains uncertain, we know that Dora had a sister, Fortunée, born in Salonika 1924, who later appeared in the census of foreigners carried out in September 1931. At that time, she was living on rue Lacroix in the 17th district of Paris and was listed as a saleswoman.

 

On June 29, 1935, Dora Choel married Joseph Brodsky, who was also Jewish and was an engineer who had migrated to France from the Ukraine. Through this marriage, Dora obtained French nationality. For the first few years of their marriage, Dora and Joseph lived on rue Nollet in the 17th district of Paris. Then, shortly before the outbreak of the war, they bought an apartment in rue du Calvaire in Saint-Cloud, and it was there that Dora was arrested by the French police in 1944.

In an article about people who were the denaturalized by the Vichy regime, historian Bernard Laguerre points out that many Jews from Salonika were denaturalized, including children born in France, and demonstrates that the loss of their French nationality was could have been contributing factor in their deportation. It appears, however, that the Choel family was not subjected to such denaturalization measures.

Dora next appears in the Paris Police Headquarters records on February 28, 1942, in a report that says she was found in a public place after 8 p.m., in contravention of curfew regulations. It was the same year that her family, with the exception of Dora and one of her sisters, Mathilde, was deported to Auschwitz on Convoy 44, with a group of Jews of Greek origin from the Paris region. On November 8, 1942, when she had just been arrested and interned in Drancy, Fortunée, her 17-year-old younger sister, wrote a letter to Dora:

“My dear little Dora,

You must have heard from the concierge that we were all arrested. Don’t be upset. We’re well enough. Mom is crying a lot but we are consoling her as much as we can.

I hope we won’t be separated. We are to be deported this afternoon to an unknown destination. But be brave, soon we will be reunited. I hope that nothing has happened to you, dear big sister. So goodbye and kisses from the whole family. We will try to send you news as often as possible.
Signed: Fortunée”

We have limited information about the lives of Dora and Joseph Brodsky around that time. Her husband Joseph was able to assume the identity of his brother-in-law Maurice Ciline, who left for the United States with his wife Raymonde in 1939. Another letter from Fortunée Choel to her sister Mathilde, dated August 6, 1942, reveals that “Dora is still in the country with her husband.”

Dora was arrested at her home in Saint-Cloud on July 7, 1944[1], on the same day that her husband Joseph was arrested in Paris. She was transferred to Drancy on July 10, and then deported to Auschwitz on July 31 on Convoy 77. While in Drancy she was reunited with Joseph, as well as his sister Riquetta and his brother-in-law Abraham Michon: they were all deported together. Dora initially worked in a factory in Birkenau, then from November 1944 on in another factory in Kratzau (Chrastava, in the Czech Republic), from where she was liberated by Soviet troops in 1945. Repatriated to France on June 9, Dora was, along with her sister and brother-in-law, the only one of her family to have survived, Joseph having died a deportee. Another of her sisters, Mathilde, was able to escape deportation by taking refuge in the south of France, then in Spain and then in Morocco.

After the war, Dora moved back to rue du Calvaire and spent many years undertaking the necessary administrative steps to have her husband’s death during deportation recognized by the French state and to have him awarded her the distinction « Mort pour la France », meaning “Died for France”. She was later awarded, in 1953, a small pension as a political deportee and widow of a political deportee.

Dora moved on, recovered and tried to rebuild her life. In 1954, she gave birth to a son, René Léon, who sadly died just a few weeks later. Although she never remarried, she dated other men after the war. She was a saleswoman and opened a stationery shop.

Dora died on May 18, 1991, at the age of 75.

Her family members left us with an image of her as a strong, smiling, elegant woman, always fulfilled and full of energy and fulfilled, despite the trauma that she experienced when she was deported.

The photos come from the personal collection of Gerard Trokiner, her nephew, and were probably taken after the war.

[1] The archives also mention July 12, 1944 as the date of Dora’s arrest.

 

 

BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_a_la_fourrure
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_a_la_plage
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_de_face
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_souriant

Contributor(s)

Students from the Alexandre-Dumas high school in Saint-Cloud, with the guidance of Nicolas Davieau, their history teacher.
1 Comment
  1. klejman laurence 3 months ago

    Joli travail ! Je me permets d’ajouter, pour les personnes que cela intéresserait, que Dora a perdu en déportation Léon (Juda ou Yuda Léon) CHOEL, son frère né en 1922, Allègre (née en 1920) et Fortunée (née en 1924) CHOEL, ses sœurs, ainsi que ses parents, évoqués dans la biographie. Ces 5 personnes résidaient officiellement 36, rue Lacroix dans le XVIIe arrondissement de Paris.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Dora BRODSKY

1913 - 1991 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Dora CHOEL épouse Brodsky (1916-1991)

Photographie ci-contre, sans doute prise après guerre, collection Gérard Trokiner, son neveu

Cette biographie est le résultat d’un travail d’atelier mené en 2019 et 2020 par des élèves du lycée Alexandre-Dumas à Saint-Cloud. En plus du dossier documentaire transmis par l’équipe du projet Convoi 77, la biographie repose sur la consultation des archives de la préfecture de police, des registres d’état civil de Saint-Cloud et de Paris, ainsi que d’un entretien avec Gérard Trokiner, neveu de Dora Brodsky. La correspondance de Fortunée Choel est publiée dans le Mémorial des vingt-quatre élèves juives du lycée Jules-Ferry déportées pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1942-1944), publié en 2015 sous la direction de Monique Epelbaum.

 

Dora Choel est née le 15 mai 1916 à Salonique (actuellement Thessalonique), en Grèce. Elle est la fille de Salomon Abraham Choel, un marchand ambulant (né en 1889) et de Riquetta Magriso (née en 1888). Dora a émigré en France avec toute sa famille, parents, sœurs et frère, pour trouver asile, à une époque où les répressions antisémites se firent de plus en plus régulières. Si la date de l’arrivée en France reste incertaine, on sait néanmoins que Dora a une sœur, Fortunée, née à Salonique 1924 ; elle apparaît ensuite en septembre 1931 dans le fichier de recensement des étrangers, domiciliée rue Lacroix dans le XVIIe arrondissement de Paris et désignée comme vendeuse.

 

Le 29 juin 1935, Dora Choel épouse Joseph Brodsky, ingénieur immigré juif lui aussi, mais originaire d’Ukraine. Par ce mariage, Dora obtient la nationalité française. Dora et Joseph vivent leurs premières années de mariage rue Nollet dans le XVIIe arrondissement à Paris. Ils achètent ensuite, peu avant le déclenchement de la guerre, un appartement à Saint-Cloud, rue du Calvaire, dans lequel Dora sera arrêtée par la police française en 1944.

Dans un article sur les dénaturalisés de Vichy, l’historien Bernard Laguerre souligne que le groupe des Juifs de Salonique a compté de nombreuses personnes dénaturalisées, y compris des enfants nés en France, et démontre que la dénaturalisation a pu jouer un rôle dans leur déportation. A priori néanmoins, la famille Choel n’a pas fait l’objet de procédure de dénaturalisation.

Dora apparaît dans les archives de la préfecture de police de Paris le 28 février 1942 : un procès-verbal est rédigé car elle a été trouvée dans un lieu public après 20h, en contravention des règles du couvre-feu. C’est cette même année que sa famille, à l’exception d’une de ses sœurs, Mathilde, est déportée à Auschwitz par le convoi 44, regroupant des Juifs d’origine grecque de région parisienne. Le 8 novembre 1942, alors qu’elle vient d’être arrêtée et internée à Drancy, Fortunée, sa petite sœur âgée de 17 ans, écrit une lettre à Dora :

« Ma chère petite Dora,
Tu as dû apprendre par la concierge que nous étions tous arrêtés. Ne te fais pas de mauvais sang. Nous allons assez bien. Maman pleure beaucoup mais nous la consolons tant que nous pouvons.
J’espère que nous ne serons pas séparés. Nous devons être déportés cette après-midi vers une destination inconnue. Mais courage, bientôt nous serons réunis. J’espère qu’à toi il ne t’est rien arrivé, chère grande sœur. Donc au revoir et reçois les baisers de toute la famille. Nous essaierons de vous donner des nouvelles le plus souvent possible.
Signé : Fortunée »

Nous avons peu de renseignements sur la vie de Dora et Joseph Brodsky durant cette période. Son mari Joseph a pu prendre l’identité de son beau-frère Maurice Ciline, parti aux États-Unis avec sa femme Raymonde en 1939. Une autre lettre de Fortunée Choel à sa sœur Mathilde, datée du 6 aout 1942, nous apprend également que « Dora est toujours à la campagne avec son mari. »

Dora est arrêtée à son domicile de Saint-Cloud le 7 juillet 1944[1], le même jour que son mari Joseph, arrêté à Paris. Elle est transférée à Drancy le 10 juillet, avant d’être déportée le 31 juillet par le convoi 77 à Auschwitz. A Drancy elle retrouva Joseph, ainsi que sa sœur Riquetta et son beau-frère Abraham Michon : ils furent déportés ensemble. Dora a d’abord travaillé dans une usine de Birkenau puis à partir de novembre 1944 dans une autre usine à Kratzau (Chrastava, République tchèque), où elle est libérée en 1945 par les troupes soviétiques. Rapatriée en France le 9 juin, Dora est, avec sa sœur et son beau-frère, la seule survivante de sa famille, Joseph étant mort en déportation. Une autre de ses sœurs, Mathilde, a pu échapper à la déportation en se réfugiant dans le sud de la France puis en Espagne et au Maroc.

Après la guerre, Dora s’est installée à nouveau rue du Calvaire et a, pendant plusieurs années, poursuivi des démarches administratives afin que l’État français reconnaisse la mort de son mari en déportation et lui décerne la mention « mort pour la France ». Elle obtint ainsi en 1953 une mince pension comme déportée politique et veuve d’un déporté politique.

Dora avance, se reconstruit et tente de refaire sa vie. Elle donne naissance en 1954 à un fils, René Léon qui décède quelques semaines plus tard. Sans jamais se remarier, elle a fréquenté d’autres hommes après la guerre. Elle qui était vendeuse, a ouvert une papeterie. Dora meurt le 18 mai 1991, à l’âge de 75 ans.

Ses descendants nous ont donné d’elle l’image d’une femme forte et souriante, élégante, toujours dynamique et épanouie, malgré le traumatisme de la déportation.

Les photos proviennent des archives personnelles de Gérard Trokiner, son neveu, sans doute prises après la guerre.

[1] Les archives évoquent également la date du 12 juillet 1944 pour l’arrestation de Dora.

BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_a_la_fourrure
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_a_la_plage
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_de_face
BRODSKY-Dora_portrait_souriant

Contributeur(s)

Students from the Alexandre-Dumas high school in Saint-Cloud, with the guidance of Nicolas Davieau, their history teacher.
1 commentaire
  1. klejman laurence 3 mois ago

    Joli travail ! Je me permets d’ajouter, pour les personnes que cela intéresserait, que Dora a perdu en déportation Léon (Juda ou Yuda Léon) CHOEL, son frère né en 1922, Allègre (née en 1920) et Fortunée (née en 1924) CHOEL, ses sœurs, ainsi que ses parents, évoqués dans la biographie. Ces 5 personnes résidaient officiellement 36, rue Lacroix dans le XVIIe arrondissement de Paris.

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?