Rosa GOURENZEIG

1899-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: , ,

Rosa GOURENZEIG or Rajzla GURENCAJG, née CUKIER or TUKIER

To the left, Noussen and Rosa’s marriage certificate. Source: Paris Archives, ref. 20M79

Rosa Gourenzeig, who is referred to by different names depending on the source: Tukier, Cukier, Gurencajg or Rajzla Cukier, was born in either Warsaw or Kiev, cities that were then were part of the Russian Empire.

According to her marriage certificate, she was born on December 6 or 18 ,1899 in Warsaw. She was the daughter of Jankiel Cukier, a trader, and Rywka Gentner.

It is not known exactly when she left her homeland to move to France. According to the minutes of the commercial court of the Seine department of France, Rosa must have married Nusen Ber Gurencajg, usually known as Noussen Gourenzeig, before they came to France, since it was noted that they had been “married under the Russian regime”.

 

From the minutes of the commercial court of the Seine department of France
Source: French National Archives, dossier reference 662.

In fact, however, according to Noussen’s military service record, the marriage took place on June 4, 1919 in Warsaw, Poland.

 

Noussen’s military service record. Source: Paris Archives, ref. D4RI 3686

They may have needed to get married in France as well for administrative reasons, given that we know that they were married again on September 17, 1929 in Paris. Once again, from the minutes of the commercial court of the Seine department, we see that Noussen was granted permission to reside in France in 1920, and we can surmise that the same was true for Rosa.

According to Joseph Fourand, her son, they set up home at 397, rue des Pyrénées, as confirmed by the 1931 Paris census and their landlord, Mr. Leblond.

 

Residence certificate. Source: Victims of Contemporary Conflicts Archives Division of the Ministry of Defense Historical Service.

In this Parisian neighborhood, where a variety of different communities lived, they had four children: AndréMarieJoseph and Paulette.

During the time she spent in Paris, Rosa Gourenzeig used to cook stuffed carp and clepors, typical dishes from her native country. Also, on Friday evenings, at the start of Shabbat, she would place a veil over her head and wept as she looked at the burning candles and thought of her family back home in Poland12. And although she often offered business advice to her husband, nowadays we would say that Rosa was a “housewife”, who took care of her home and her children. Paulette says that her mother sometimes took her to the movies, and also that her mother spoke mainly in Russian, Polish and Yiddish, but knew very little French.

In the spring of 1940, following the German offensive, Noussen sent Rosa and their children to seek shelter in a little village near Sens, where they stayed with an elderly English woman. They all returned to Paris a few days later, before the Germans moved into the capital.

Rosa, who had been granted French nationality by naturalization on September 15, 1938, according to a decree of the then President of the Republic Albert Lebrun, lost it again on August 21 1941 when the Vichy government put in place a law requiring the annulment of French citizenship accorded to Jews in particular.

Extract from the decree dated September 15, 1938 by which Rosa was granted French citizenship. Source: https://www.siv.archives-nationales.culture.gouv.fr/mm/media/download/FRAN_0312_38517_L-medium.jpg

According to the article in the French newspaper Le Monde published online on December 5, 2015 “The law of July 22, 1940 provided for the systematic review of all naturalizations granted since 1927 – 1927, since the law of August 10, 1927, which replaced a very old one dating back to 1889, facilitated the acquisition of French nationality by reducing the residency requirement from ten to three years […] and by increasing the number of cases of automatic accession. Indeed, between 1917 and 1940, nearly 900,000 people acquired French nationality. […] For four years, the Commission excluded 15,154 people from the French citizenry, and lists were published in the French Official Gazette – a little fewer than half of them would have been Jews, although it is difficult to verify this. This was not a large number out of the 900,000 people who were liable to be stripped of their citizenship, because the Commission, even though the law did not mention it, was primarily aimed at the Jews. Since October 1940, Jewish foreigners had been interned in specialized camps or held in groups of foreigners, including those who had been “denaturalized”. The first deportation convoy (on March 27, 1942) changed the nature of this “denaturalization”; effectively, the wise men on the committee were now sending the Jews who had been stripped of their nationality to their deaths.”

After they lost their French citizenship, the father decided to look for a place to relocate his family in the free zone. He left first, as a pathfinder. He was arrested while trying to cross the demarcation line and spent two weeks in jail in Chalon-sur-Saône. After this initial failure, he employed a people smuggler and thus made his way to Lyon, where he found a place to live. From there, he sent another people-smuggler to pick up his wife and children. The smuggler went to Paris to pick up Rosa, but she panicked and became distraught at the idea of leaving behind the city and the memories she had of it.

The following day, she went to the Gare de Lyon station with her sons, her daughters having gone on ahead a short while earlier. However, once on the train, she was unable to find them. She decided to get off at Dijon and return to Paris to look for them. Meanwhile, her sons continued on their way with the smuggler, but they were arrested while trying to cross the demarcation line and imprisoned firstly in Chalon-sur-Saône and then in Autun.

After 8 weeks in captivity, the boys returned to Paris. Since they were wanted by the police, Rosa decided to leave Paris with her children in order to meet up with her husband and take refuge with him in the free zone. She found a people smuggler who took them to the demarcation line near Chalon-sur-Saône. They then had to cross the border on foot, in the snow. Rosa’s silk stockings stuck to her legs. When she arrived in Lyon, her husband used tweezers to remove the fragments of her stockings encrusted in her skin.

The apartment was on the fifth floor of a building at 11, place Antonin Gourju, in the 2nd district of Lyon. It was made up of two large rooms furnished with chests and a typical Lyon-style kitchen.

Rosa was happy there, surrounded by her family. Her husband’s work and income provided enough money to support everyone. However, on November 9, 1942, everything changed: this was the day on which the Germans crossed the demarcation line. Rosa wondered whether it would be safer to flee to Switzerland, but her husband refused, which caused some friction between them18. Food was difficult to come by and Rosa, who was a heavy woman, lost a lot of weight. Paulette recalls that meals often included fava beans cooked in water. Rosa was upset because she could not feed her family as well as she would have liked.

On July 18, 1944, as documented in her missing persons certificate, Rosa was arrested at her home by the French Gestapo, together with her husband, her son Joseph and her husband’s two Polish employees. They were taken to the Gestapo headquarters, which had been on Place Bellecour since May 26, 1944, when Allied shelling destroyed its former headquarters on Avenue Berthelot.

Missing person’s certificate. Source: Victims of Contemporary Conflicts Archives Division of the Ministry of Defense Historical Service, in Caen.

Meanwhile, André hid in a closet in their apartment and avoided being seen by the Gestapo soldiers. Rosa’s other daughter, Marie, had managed to escape and Paulette had been sent to live with a family in the country. Rosa was still a mother, however, and must have been worried about Marie, who had run off and from whom she had no news, about Paulette, who was staying with strangers in the countryside, and about André, who was a frail child and had been separated from the others.

She may have been arrested due to having been denounced in a letter from her cousin’s mother-in-law, but this was just a hypothesis put forward by Joseph and his father; it has never been substantiated.

After spending a night in the Gestapo building, Rosa was separated from her husband and son in the Montluc jail, which was at 4, Rue Jeanne Hachette.

 

The Jews’ barracks in the main exercise yard
Source: Rhône departmental archives, ref. 4544 W 17

The location of the Jews’ barracks today. Source: Photo by Christèle Vial

 

Plan of the Montluc prison
Source :http://museedelaresistanceenligne.org/media496-Plan-de-la-prison-de-Montluc-Lyon#fiche-tab

She stayed there for a total of 6 days, from July 19 to July 24, 1944. The men were separated from the women, and the young children were placed in hospitals. As for Rosa, she may have been held in the workshops or in the prison barracks. At first, she was alone, but a few days later her daughter Marie, who had been captured, was sent to the same jail.

In the prison, resistance fighters, civilians, opponents of the Nazi regime and Jews were all kept together and were subjected to more abuse than the other prisoners. The men, such as Rosa’s husband and son, were held in what was known as the “Jews’ barracks”. The detention facilities were horrible: the cells were very narrow, with 8 to 10 people in each. The prisoners had no proper beds, since they had been removed after someone escaped, so they only had three sacks of straw. There was one basin of water for washing and one bucket to relieve themselves, both of which the prisoners had to share. As a result, they had to endure the stench and unsanitary conditions. Their only activity was going outside for 45 minutes a day. The only food provided was a hunk of stale, black bread and a piece of tough meat. In the evenings, the Red Cross brought them a bowl of soup. Diseases were rife due to the poor living conditions, and there were lice, fleas and rats.

After her stay in Lyon, on July 24, 1944, Rosa was transferred to the Drancy transit camp.

 

Jews interned in Drancy camp, France, between 1941 and 1944
Photo credit: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Source: http://www.ajpn.org/images-camps/1287327403_juifs.jpg

 

Extract from the list of people deported from Drancy to Auschwitz on Convoy 77. Source: Copy of 1.1.9.9 / 11191135, in conformity with ITS Digital Archive, Arolsen Archives.
Alphabetical lists of Jews deported from Drancy transit camp (Original transport lists held by the French National Research Agency)

 

Drancy was made up of 3 distinct sites, 3 blocks of buildings in the shape of a “U”. The section on the left was for the prisoners detained in cells, who were frequently shot. The section on the right was for people who were to be deported. The middle building was used to hold the Mischlingen, which means Aryan men or women who were married to Jews. During the day, they were free to go outside, except for the day before a deportation convoy, when a fence was erected to cordon off the building on the right.

The camp gates were guarded by French police. During the Gourenzegs’ internment in the camp, on July 28, 1944 to be precise, the courtyard was fenced off to separate the Jews from the other prisoners.

On July 31, 1944, 17 days before the camp was liberated, Rosa and her family were deported to Auschwitz Birkenau by train, on Convoy 77, (the last of transport to leave Drancy), with 986 men and women and 324 children on board.

The travelling conditions on the train were appalling: the cars were normally used to transport livestock and hundreds of Jews were crammed into them. Besides that, the prisoners had no food or water during the journey, which lasted three days and two nights. Many unfortunate people died of malnutrition, diseases or suicide. The corpses were intermingled with the people still alive, which made the journey even more traumatic.

When they arrived and got off the train, the SS made a selection. Men were sent to one side, women to the other. Rosa was separated from her husband and her sons, who were sent to the Auschwitz camp. She was also separated from her daughter Marie, who was selected to go to the Birkenau camp, while she herself was sent to the “showers”. We can only imagine what Rosa’s last hours were like. She was all alone, without her loved ones, in the midst of a crowd of strangers. They are taken to a large room where they had to get undressed in front of people they didn’t know. And then they had to go into the showers, in which no water ever flowed, but instead the soldiers poured in Zyklon B gas. Rosa must have felt the air thinning, her life ebbing away, and death looming. Afterwards, her corpse was incinerated in the crematorium and her ashes were intermingled with those of over a million other people.

At the age of just 45, Rosa lost her life; the Nazi system condemned her simply for having been born.

Contributeur(s)

Emilie, Romane, Sarah and Tom, 9th grade students at La Haute Azergues middle school
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Rosa GOURENZEIG

1899-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: , ,

Rosa GOURENZEIG ou Rajzla GURENCAJG née CUKIER ou TUKIER

Ci-Contre : Acte de mariage de Noussen et Rosa. Source : Archives de Paris, cote 20M79

Rosa GOURENZEIG, que l’on trouve dénommée de différentes manières selon les sources : Tukier CUKIER, GURENCAJG ou Rajzla CUKIER, serait née à Varsovie ou à Kiev, deux villes appartenant à l’empire russe.

D’après l’acte de mariage, elle est née le 6 ou le 18 décembre 1899 à Varsovie. Elle est la fille de Jankiel Cukier, un commerçant, et de Rywka Gentner.

Nous ne savons pas précisément à quelle période elle quitte son pays pour rejoindre la France. D’après l’extrait des minutes du tribunal de commerce du département de la Seine, Rosa aurait épousé Nusen Ber GURENCAJG, plus souvent appelé Noussen Gourenzeig avant de venir en France car il est noté «marié sous le régime russe».

Extrait des minutes du tribunal de commerce du département de la Seine
Source : Archives nationales, cote dossier 662

En fait, d’après la fiche matricule militaire de Noussen, ce mariage a eu lieu le 4 juin 1919 à Varsovie.

Fiche matricule militaire de Noussen. Source : Archives de Paris, cote D4RI 3686

Peut-être ont-ils eu besoin, pour des raisons administratives, de se marier également en France, car nous savons qu’ils se sont mariés le 17 septembre 1929 à Paris. Toujours d’après l’extrait des minutes du tribunal de commerce du département de la Seine, nous apprenons que Noussen obtient en 1920 l’autorisation de domicile en France, nous pouvons supposer qu’il en a été de même pour Rosa.

Selon Joseph GOURAND, son fils, ils se seraient installés 397 rue des Pyrénées, ce qu’attestent le recensement de 1931 et le propriétaire Monsieur Leblond.

Certificat de Domicile. Source : PAVCC du SHD de Caen

Dans ce quartier parisien où vivait une multitude de communautés, ils ont eu quatre enfants : André, Marie, Joseph et Paulette.

Durant sa vie à Paris, Rosa GOURENZEIG a l’habitude de cuisiner des carpes farcies et des clepors, plats typiques de son pays d’origine. Aussi, le vendredi soir, lors du début de shabbat, elle met un voile sur la tête et pleure devant les bougies allumées en pensant à sa famille restée en Pologne12. Même si elle conseille régulièrement son mari sur sa production, on dirait aujourd’hui de Rosa que c’était une femme au foyer qui s’occupait de son intérieur et de ses enfants. D’ailleurs Paulette raconte que sa mère l’emmenait parfois au cinéma. Paulette dit également que sa mère parlait essentiellement en russe, en polonais et en yiddish, mais connaissait mal le français.

Au printemps 1940, après l’offensive allemande, Noussen l’envoie avec leurs enfants pour se mettre à l’abri dans un petit village près de Sens, chez une vieille Anglaise. Ils regagnent tous Paris quelques jours plus tard, avant que les Allemands entrent dans la capitale.

Rosa, qui avait obtenu la nationalité française par naturalisation, le 15 septembre 1938, grâce à un décret du président de la République Albert Lebrun,

Extrait du décret du 15 septembre 1938 accordant la nationalité française. Source : https://www.siv.archives-nationales.culture.gouv.fr/mm/media/download/FRAN_0312_38517_L-medium.jpg

la perd le 21 août 1941 car le gouvernement de Vichy met en place une loi demandant d’annuler les naturalisations accordées aux Juifs notamment.

D’après l’article du journal Le Monde mis en ligne le 5 décembre 2015 « Le décret-loi du 22 juillet 1940 prévoyait, lui, la révision systématique de toutes naturalisations accordées depuis 1927 – 1927, parce que la loi du 10 août 1927, qui en remplaçait une fort ancienne de 1889, facilitait l’acquisition de la nationalité française en réduisant de dix à trois ans la durée de domiciliation sur le territoire […] et en multipliant les cas d’accession automatique. De fait, de 1917 à 1940, près de 900 000 personnes ont acquis la nationalité française. […] Pendant quatre ans, la Commission va exclure de la communauté française 15154 personnes, dont le Journal officiel va publier les listes – un peu moins de la moitié auraient été Juifs, encore qu’il soit difficile de l’établir. C’est peu, sur le nombre de personnes susceptibles d’être déchues (900 000) – c’est que la Commission, même si la loi n’en soufflait mot, était d’abord dirigée contre les Juifs. Les étrangers juifs étaient depuis octobre 1940 internés dans un camp spécial ou en groupement d’étrangers – les dénaturalisés aussi. Le premier convoi de déportés (27 mars 1942) change la nature de la dénaturalisation, c’est bien vers la mort que les sages de la commission envoyaient désormais les déchus juifs de la nationalité. »

N’ayant plus la nationalité française, le père décide d’aller en zone libre avec sa famille. Il part en premier, en éclaireur. Il est arrêté en tentant de passer la ligne de démarcation et passe deux semaines en prison à Chalon-sur-Saône. Après cet échec, il fait appel à un passeur et parvient jusqu’à Lyon où il s’installe. De là, il envoie un passeur pour qu’il aille chercher sa femme et ses enfants. Le passeur vient chercher Rosa à Paris, mais elle est paniquée et désemparée à l’idée d’abandonner les souvenirs qu’elle a dans cette ville.

Le lendemain, elle part à la gare de Lyon avec ses fils, ses filles étant parties un peu plus tôt. Dans le train, elle ne les retrouve pas. Elle décide donc de descendre à Dijon puis de retourner à Paris pour les retrouver. Pendant ce temps, ses fils continuent le chemin avec le passeur, mais ils sont arrêtés en tentant de passer la ligne de démarcation et emprisonnés à Chalon-sur-Saône, puis à Autun.

Après 8 semaines de captivité, les garçons rentrent à Paris. Comme ils sont recherchés par la police, Rosa décide de quitter Paris avec ses enfants pour se réfugier en zone libre et retrouver son mari. Elle trouve un passeur qui les conduit jusqu’à la ligne de démarcation vers Chalon-sur-Saône. Là, c’est sous la neige qu’ils doivent traverser la ligne. Les bas de soie de Rosa lui collent aux jambes. Arrivée à Lyon, son mari lui retire à la pince à épiler les morceaux de bas incrustés dans la chair.

Son appartement à Lyon est situé au cinquième étage du 11 place Antonin Gourju, dans le 2ème arrondissement. Il est composé de deux grandes pièces meublées de bahuts et d’une cuisine à la lyonnaise.

Rosa est heureuse. En effet, elle est entourée de sa famille. Le travail de son mari permet de subvenir aux besoins de tous. Mais le 9 novembre 1942, tout change : c’est le jour où les Allemands franchissent la ligne de démarcation. Rosa s’est demandée si un départ pour la Suisse ne serait pas plus sûr mais son mari refuse, ce qui crée des tensions entre eux18. Le ravitaillement est difficile : Rosa qui était une femme forte perd beaucoup de poids. Paulette raconte que souvent le menu était constitué de fèves cuites à l’eau. Rosa se désolait de ne pas pouvoir nourrir sa famille comme elle l’aurait souhaité.

Le 18 juillet 1944, comme l’atteste son acte de disparition, Rosa est arrêtée chez elle avec son mari, son fils Joseph et les deux ouvriers polonais de son mari par la Gestapo française. Ils sont conduits au siège de la Gestapo situé place Bellecour depuis le 26 mai 1944 : des bombardements alliés ont détruit l’ancien siège avenue Berthelot.

Acte de disparition. Source : PAVCC du SHD de Caen

Pendant ce temps, André est caché dans l’armoire de leur appartement et a échappé à la vue des soldats de la Gestapo. Son autre fille, Marie, s’est évadée et Paulette a été confiée à une famille à la campagne. Rosa est, néanmoins, une maman et doit s’inquiéter à la fois pour Marie qui s’est enfuie dont elle n’a pas de nouvelles, pour Paulette qui est à la campagne chez des inconnus et pour André, qui est un enfant à la santé fragile et à l’écart des autres.

Son arrestation est probablement due à une lettre de dénonciation de la belle-mère de son cousin, une épicière lyonnaise, mais cela n’est pas confirmé, ce n’est qu’une hypothèse de Joseph et de son père.

Après avoir passé une nuit dans les locaux de la Gestapo, elle est séparée de son mari et de son fils à la prison de Montluc, située au 4 Rue Jeanne Hachette.

 

La baraque aux Juifs dans la cour de promenade principale
Source : Archives départementales du. Rhône
Cote 4544 W 17

L’emplacement de la baraque aux Juifs aujourd’hui. Source : Photo Christèle Vial

Plan de la prison Montluc
Source :http://museedelaresistanceenligne.org/media496-Plan-de-la-prison-de-Montluc-Lyon#fiche-tab

Son séjour là-bas dure au total 6 jours, du 19 juillet au 24 juillet 1944. Les hommes sont séparés des femmes, les jeunes enfants placés dans des hôpitaux. Rosa, quant à elle, est peut-être installée dans l’atelier ou dans la baraque de la prison. Au début de son séjour, elle est seule mais, quelques jours après, elle est rejointe par sa fille Marie, qui a été retrouvée.

À la prison se côtoient les résistants, les civils, les opposants au régime nazi et les Juifs qui subissent plus de mauvais traitements par rapport aux autres prisonniers. En effet, les hommes, comme le mari et le fils de Rosa, sont installés dans « la baraque aux Juifs ». Les conditions de détention sont horribles : les cellules sont très étroites, elles accueillent 8 à 10 personnes dans la même pièce. De plus, les prisonniers n’ont pas de lits (ces derniers avaient été supprimés à la suite d’une évasion), seulement trois sacs de paille, une bassine d’eau pour se laver et un seau commun à tous les prisonniers. Ils doivent donc supporter une odeur nauséabonde et une hygiène déplorable. Leurs seules activités sont les sorties de 45 minutes par jour. Les prisonniers ont pour seules nourritures fournies par la prison un morceau de pain noir et rassis ainsi qu’un morceau de viande dure. Le soir, la Croix-Rouge vient leur apporter un bol de soupe. Il y a également des maladies dues aux mauvaises conditions de vie, des poux, des puces et des rats.

Après, Rosa est déplacée vers le camp de transit de Drancy le 24 juillet 1944.

 

Juifs internés dans le camp de Drancy, France, entre 1941 et 1944
Source :source photo : United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
crédit photo : USHMM
Source : http://www.ajpn.org/images-camps/1287327403_juifs.jpg

 

Extrait de la liste du convoi au départ de Drancy en direction d’ Auschwitz. Source : Copy of 1.1.9.9 / 11191135
in conformity with ITS Digital Archive, Arolsen Archives
Alphabetical lists of Jews deported from transit camp Drancy (Original transport lists in possession of Bureau National de Recherches Francais)

Le camp de Drancy est composé de 3 sites distincts, 3 blocs de bâtiments formant la lettre «U». La partie gauche est pour les prisonniers incarcérés en cellules, ils sont souvent fusillés. La partie droite regroupe toutes les personnes qui doivent être déportées. Le bâtiment du milieu contenait les Mischlingen, c’est-à-dire les hommes ou les femmes aryens mariés à un Juif. La journée, ils sont libres de sortir dehors mais, la veille d’un convoi de déportation, un grillage est installé pour isoler le bâtiment de droite.

Les grilles du camp sont gardées par des gendarmes français. Pendant leur internement au camp, précisément le 28 juillet 1944, la cour a été grillagée pour séparer les Juifs des autres prisonniers.

Par la suite, le 31 juillet 1944, soit 17 jours avant la libération du camp de transit de Drancy, Rosa et sa famille sont envoyées à Auschwitz Birkenau en prenant le train, le convoi 77, (dernier convoi de déportés de Drancy), composé de 986 hommes et femmes et 324 enfants.

Les conditions dans le train sont épouvantables : les wagons servent normalement pour transporter les bêtes et des centaines de Juifs y sont entassés. De plus, les prisonniers n’ont pas à manger ni à boire pendant le voyage qui dure trois jours et deux nuits. De nombreux malheureux sont morts de malnutrition, de maladies ou de suicides. Les cadavres sont mêlés aux vivants, rendant le trajet encore plus difficile.

En arrivant à Birkenau, les SS procèdent à une sélection. Les hommes d’un côté, les femmes de l’autre. Rosa est séparée de ses fils et de son mari qui sont conduits à Auschwitz. Elle est aussi séparée de Marie qui est sélectionnée pour entrer dans le camp de Birkenau, alors qu’elle est envoyée à la douche. Nous ne pouvons qu’imaginer les derniers moments de Rosa. Elle se retrouve seule, sans ceux qui lui sont chers, au milieu d’une foule d’étrangers. Ils sont conduits dans une vaste pièce où ils doivent se déshabiller devant des inconnus. Et puis ils doivent entrer dans les douches où aucune eau ne coule, où les soldats déversent du Zyklon B. Rosa a alors dû sentir l’air lui manquer, la vie l’abandonner, la mort arriver. Son corps a ensuite été brûlé dans un four crématoire et ses cendres se sont mêlées à celles de plus d’un million de personnes.

À 45 ans, Rosa a perdu la vie car le système nazi lui reprochait d’être née.

Emilie, Romane, Sarah et Tom

Contributeur(s)

Emilie, Romane, Sarah, Tom, élèves de 3ème1 collège de la Haute Azergues
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?