Jeanine STEPANSKI

1933-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Jeanine STEPANSKI

Jeanine in a school photo of the 6th grade B class at the Molière school (1943-1944),
Source: Nicole Chaillet.

Jeanine Stepanski’s childhood

Jeanine Stepanski was born on April 4, 1933 in the 16th district of Paris. She was a French citizen who was living at 41 rue des Belles Feuilles in 1936, and at 60 rue de la Faisanderie in the 16th district in 1944. She lived with her brother Danielher mother Rebecca and her father Henri.

 

Jeanine Stepanski, on the left, with her brother Daniel
Source: The Shoah Memorial in Paris. 

She also went to the Molière school, and can be seen in the school photo of the 6th grade B class in the 1943-1944 academic year. She was good friends with one girl in particular in her class, Nicole Chaillet (maiden name: Rossano).

 

School photo of the 6th grade B class at the Molière school (1943-1944 (1943-1944)
Source: Nicole Chaillet.

Jeanine Stepanski wrote a letter to Nicole on June 9th, 1943. (see references below)

In this letter, Jeanine updates her friend after she left, telling her that the students who had failed the D.E.P.P. (certificate of primary studies) in May, as Nicole had, would be able to retake the exam.

 

Letter from Jeanine Stepanski to Nicole Chaillet, kindly donated by Ms. Chaillet

Internment in Drancy deportation to Auschwitz

In 1944, the people of Paris were living at the mercy of the German occupiers. As a result, Jews were discriminated against and repressed. It was against this backdrop that on July 14, 1944, the Gestapo, the Nazi political police, went to arrest Jeanine, her mother and brother at their home. They were later sent to Drancy, where they were interned on June 19, 1944. Drancy was an internment camp in what is now the Seine-Saint-Denis department. The camp was a central gathering point for Jews who were to be deported from France. Around 9 out of 10 French Jews were deported via Drancy.

On June 31, 1944, Jeanine Stepanski, her brother and her mother were deported to Auschwitz on Convoy 77, the last large convoy to Auschwitz. 1309 people, including 324 children, were on the train, many of whom met a tragic end. Auschwitz was the Third Reich’s largest concentration camp and killing center. As soon as Jeanine, her mother and brother arrived at Auschwitz, they were murdered in the gas chambers. Their official date of death was later declared to have been July 5, 1944.

Lastly, on April 25, 2003, the by Secretary of State for Veterans decreed that the words “Died during deportation” be added to affixed to the official certificates and records about Jeanine Stepanski. Her name is inscribed on slab 38, column 13, row 2 of the Wall of Names at the Shoah Memorial in Paris. Her nephew, Alexandre Stepanski, also submitted a testimonial card to Yad Vashem on February 14, 2005.

 

Source : Yad Vashem

The Stepanski family tree, based on testimonial cards from Yad Vashem, drawn by Laurent Gerome and Chanthuyan Chandravarathan, students at the Molière high school

 

Chanthuyan CHANDRAVARATHAN et Laurent GEROME, élèves de Terminale encadrés par Jennifer Ghislain et Anne-Marie Poutiers, lycée Molière, Paris.

 

Sources:

  • Photos

– Jeanine Stepanski and her brother Daniel: Shoah Memorial website, sent by Maurice Stepanski

– Photo of class 6e B at the Molière school: Molière high school archives

  • Archived records

– Jeanine Stepanski’s letter to Nicole Chaillet: letter donated by Nicole Chaillet, included in, Mémorial des enfants juifs du lycée Molière morts en déportation à Auschwitz (et de leurs familles), 1942-1944 (Memorial to the Jewish children of the Molière school who died during deportation to Auschwitz (and their families), 1942-1944), by Anne-Marie Poutiers and nine students from classes 3e1, 3e2 et 3e3 at the Molière High school, Salavre, published by Cleyriane, 2023.

–Testimonial cards for Jeanine Stepanski, submitted by Alexandre Stepanski, and for Rebecca and Blanche Stepanski, submitted by Maurice Stepanski, Yad Vashem

  • Websites

– 9th grade students from the Fernand-Leger school in Vierzon, biography of Daniel Stepanski on this site and the Wikipedia article Drancy Internment Camp

What is the Shoah? and an article in French only about the Jews in France during the Holocaust https://www.memorialdelashoah.org/archives-et-documentation/quest-ce-que-la-shoah/juifs-de-france-shoah.html, both on the Shoah Memorial website

 

Les Juifs de France dans la Shoah

 

Contributeur(s)

Chanthuyan Chandravarathan and Laurent Getome, 12th grade students at the Molière high school in Paris, with the guidance of Jennifer Ghislain and Anne-Marie Poutiers.
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Jeanine STEPANSKI

1933-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence:

Jeanine STEPANSKI

Ci-Contre : Photo de classe de la 6e B de Molière (1943-1944),
Source : Nicole Chaillet.

Enfance de Jeanine Stepanski

Jeanine Stepanski est née le 4 avril 1933 dans le XVIe arrondissement de Paris. De nationalité française, cette dernière habitait en 1936 au 41 rue des Belles Feuilles, puis en 1944 au 60 rue de la Faisanderie toujours dans le XVIe. Elle résidait avec sa famille, c’est-à-dire avec son frère Daniel, sa mère Rebecca et son père Henri.

Jeanine Stepanski à gauche Et son frère Daniel,
Source : Mémorial de la Shoah. 

Par ailleurs, elle fut élève au Lycée Molière durant l’année scolaire 1943-1944 en 6ème B, comme on peut le voir sur la photo de classe. Elle s’est notamment liée d’amitié avec une fille de sa classe Nicole Chaillet (nom de jeune fille : Rossano).

Photo de classe de la 6e B de Molière (1943-1944)
Source : Nicole Chaillet.

Jeanine Stepanski lui écrivit une lettre le 9 juin 1943 (voir les archives).

Dans cette lettre, Jeanine prend des nouvelles de son amie suite à son départ, elle lui annonce notamment que les candidats ayant échoués au D.E.P.P (diplôme d’étude primaire préparatoire) de mai pourraient se représenter, c’est le cas de Nicole.

Lettre de Jeanine Stepanski, adressée à Nicole Chaillet, fournie par cette dernière.

L’internement à Drancy et la déportation à Auschwitz

En 1944, Paris est sous la pression de l’occupant allemand. Par conséquent, les juifs sont discriminés et réprimés. C’est dans ce contexte que le 14 juillet 1944, Jeanine a été arrêtée avec sa mère et son frère à leur domicile par la Gestapo, la police politique de l’Allemagne nazie. Par la suite, ils sont envoyés et internés à Drancy le 19 juin 1944. Drancy est un camp d’internement situé actuellement en Seine-Saint-Denis. Ce camp constitue un lieu central de la déportation des Juifs en France. En effet 9 Juifs français déportés sur 10 passent par Drancy.

Ensuite, le 31 juin 1944, Jeanine Stepanski ainsi que son frère et sa mère sont déportés à Auschwitz au sein du convoi 77. Ce convoi est le dernier en partance pour Auschwitz. Il est associé au destin tragique de 1309 personnes dont 324 enfants. Auschwitz est tout simplement le plus grand camp de concentration et centre de mise à mort du IIIe Reich. Ainsi, dès son arrivée à Auschwitz, Jeanine est assassinée le 5 juillet 1944 tout comme sa mère et son frère dans une chambre à gaz.

Enfin, par arrêté du Secrétaire d’Etat aux anciens combattants, en date du 25/04/2003, la mention de « Mort en déportation » est apposée sur les actes et jugements de : Jeanine Stepanski. Son nom figure sur le mur des déportés au Mémorial de la Shoah dalle 38, colonne 13, rangée 2. De plus, son neveu : Alexandre Stepanski fait une fiche de témoignage auprès de Yad Vashem, le 14/02/2005.

Source : Yad Vashem

Arbre généalogique réalisé à l’aide des fiches témoignages de Yad Vashem par Laurent Gerome et Chanthuyan Chandravarathan, élèves au lycée Molière

Chanthuyan CHANDRAVARATHAN et Laurent GEROME, élèves de Terminale encadrés par Jennifer Ghislain et Anne-Marie Poutiers, lycée Molière, Paris.

 

Bibliographie :

  • Photos

– Jeanine Stepanski et son frère Daniel : Mémorial de la Shoah, émis par Maurice Stepanski

– Photo de classe de la 6e B du collège Molière : archives du lycée Molière, Pari

  • Documents d’archives

– Lettre de Jeanine Stepanski à Nicole Chaillet : lettre donnée par Nicole Chaillet, reproduite dans POUTIERS Anne-Marie, neuf élèves de 3e1, 3e2 et 3e3, Mémorial des enfants juifs du lycée Molière morts en déportation à Auschwitz (et de leurs familles), 1942-1944, Salavre, Editions Cleyriane, 2023.

– Fiches de Jeanine Stepanski fait par Alexandre Stepanski, de Rebecca et Blanche Stepanski par Maurice Stepanski, Yad Vashem

  • Sites web

– 3e du Collège Fernand-Leger (Vierzon), « Daniel Stepanski », Convoi 77 (en ligne) : « Camp de Drancy », Wikipédia (en ligne)

– Les Juifs de France dans la Shoah, Mémorial de la Shoah (en ligne) :

Les Juifs de France dans la Shoah

 

This biography of Jeanine STEPANSKI has been translated into English.

Contributeur(s)

Chanthuyan CHANDRAVARATHAN et Laurent GEROME, élèves de Terminale encadrés par Jennifer Ghislain et Anne-Marie Poutiers, lycée Molière, Paris.
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?