Kasriel JOFFE

1907 - 1944 | Birth: , | Arrest: | Residence: ,

Kasriel JOFFE

 

This biography is reproduced from the book by Alexandre Doulut and Sandrine Labeau entitled Les 473 déportés juifs de Lot-et-Garonne (The 473 Jewish deportees from the Lot-et-Garonne department) Coedition Après l’Oubli- LES FILS ET FILLES DES DÉPORTÉS JUIFS DE FRANCE, Paris, 2010 (THE SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF THE FRENCH JEWISH DEPORTEES). Our thanks to the authors for their kind permission to reproduce the text and the photograph.

Kasriel JOFFE was born on April 5, 1907 in Vitebsk (a city located in the Russian Empire at the time of his birth, but in Lithuania between the world wars and in Bielorussia today). Born a Russian citizen, he became Lithuanian when that country gained its independence in 1918. His parents were Simon Joffe and Feïga, née Chnere. His wife was Beila, née Misroch on March 12, 1912. Two children were born of their marriage: Anatole was born in Uccle, Belgium on September 1, 1932, and André-Daniel was born on June 30, 1941 in Nérac, France. An engineer specialized in heating units, Kasriel Joffe immigrated to Belgium in 1925. Later the Joffe family took Belgian citizenship. In Brussels Kasriel worked for the “Société de Construction de Matériel Thermique” (Thermal Equipment Construction Company).

Fleeing before the German invasion of Belgium in May, 1940, the Joffes settled in Nérac in the Lot-et-Garonne department (in the villa Georgette), where a colleague in the company where Kasriel worked in Belgium was a refugee. This man, Monsieur Parent, self-employed, took on Kasriel Joffe in November, 1940 at his “Parent Establishments”, an enterprise located on the rue Séderie.

In July of 1941 Kasriel Joffe filled out for himself and his wife a census form for Jews. He indicated, however, that he did not know his position under the law of June 2, 1941: “due to the interruption of the mail services, it is imposible for me to obtain precise information about the religion of all our parents and grandparents”. He explains that he has nevertheless filled out this declaration for his wife and himself, but not for his children, as the law provides for punishment in case of “inexact declarations”.

In March of 1942 the family was assigned to house arrest in Castillonès. But Monsieur Parent intervened with the Prefecture to have that decision nullified. At the time of the major roundup of foreigners in the Free Zone on August, 26, 1942 the four members of the Joffe family were on the lists of those to be arrested by the Nérac police. Did Monsieur Parent once again intervene? For whatever reason, they eluded deportation, but the respite was to be of short duration for Kasriel Joffe. On February 20, 1943 the police showed up at his home and took him away. Two thousand foreign Jews between the ages of 16 and 65 were rounded up all over France in February, 1943 by demand of the Germans in reprisal for the assassination of two officers in Paris. Taken to the la Couronne concentration center in Boé near Agen, he was then sent to the Gurs camp and interned in barracks n°7 in block F. Once again Monsieur Parent intervened, sending several letters to the commander of the Gurs camp to get his employee freed. He furnished all the required administrative documents (a certificate of lodging, a certificate of residence, and an attestation of employment) for the liberation of Kasriel Joffe, which occurred on March, 25, 1943.

On September 9, 1943 Kasriel Joffe was once again arrested. This time the roundup organized by the Prefecture was for the purpose of sending foreign Jewish males to work in the Todt organization. Gathered at the Noé camp in the Haute-Garonne department, they were assigned to the GTE 513 at Muret, but they remained there only a few days. On September 29th they were transferred to the GTE 212 at Martigues and put to work on different jobs of the Todt organization. Kasriel Joffe seems to have been assigned to the Malaval camp in the Bouches-du-Rhône department. On May 11, 1944, on the order of Aloïs Brunner, the Jews at this GTE were imprisoned in Marseille, and then sent to Drancy on May 19, 1944. Upon his arrival at the transit camp in the Paris region he declared that he was a Swedish citizen and thus exempt from deportation. That could explain why he was not deported immediately or in the following days (in the convoys that left on May 30 and June 30). It was on July 31, 1944 that Kasriel Joffe wa sent to Auschwitz-Birkenau in Convoy 77.

Joffe Kasriel Parent lettre.jpg
Joffe Kasriel photo

Contributor(s)

Anatole Joffe, son fils.
0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Kasriel JOFFE

1907 - 1944 | Naissance: , | Arrestation: | Résidence: ,

Cette biographie est reproduite d’après le livre d’ Alexandre Doulut & Sandrine Labeau, sous le titre « Les 473 déportés juifs de Lot-et-Garonne » Coédition APRÈS L’OUBLI- LES FILS ET FILLES DES DÉPORTÉS JUIFS DE FRANCE, Paris,2010. Nous remercions les auteurs pour leur aimable autorisation de reproduire le texte et la photo.

Kasriel JOFFE est né le 5 avril 1907 à Vitebsk (ville située dans l’empire russe à sa naissance, puis en Lituanie pendant l’entre-deux guerres et en Biélorussie aujourd’hui). De nationalité russe à sa naissance, il devient lituanien en 1918 quand le pays prend son indépendance. Ses parents sont Simon et Feïga, née Chnere. Sa femme se prénomme Beila, née Misroch le 12 mars 1912. De leur mariage sont nés deux enfants : Anatole voit le jour à Uccle en Belgique le 1° septembre 1932 et André-Daniel à Nérac, le 30 juin 1941. Ingénieur spécialisé dans la construction de matériel de chauffage, Kasriel Joffe a émigré en Belgique en 1925. Plus tard, les Joffe prennent d’ailleurs la nationalité belge. A Bruxelles, Kasriel travaille pour la « Société de Construction de Matériel Thermique ».

Devant l’invasion de la Belgique par l’Allemagne en mai 1940, les Joffe fuient et s’installent dans le Lot-et-Garonne, à Nérac (villa Georgette), où un des membres de la société pour laquelle Kasriel travaillait en Belgique s’est réfugié. Ce dernier, M. Parent, installé à son compte, emploie alors Joffe Kasriel aux « Etablissements Parent », entreprise située rue Séderie, à partir de novembre 1940.

Au mois de juillet 1941, Joffe Kasriel remplit pour sa femme et pour lui-même une déclaration au recensement des Juifs. Toutefois, il indique ne pas connaître sa situation vis-à-vis de la loi du 2 juin 1941 : « par suite de l’interruption des communications postales, il m’est impossible d’avoir des renseignements précis au sujet de la religion de tous nos parents et grands parents ». Il explique qu’il a tout de même complété cette déclaration pour sa femme et lui – mais non pour ses enfants – car la loi prévoit des sanctions pour « les déclarations inexactes ».

En mars 1942, la famille est assignée à résidence à Castillonnès. Mais M. Parent intervient auprès de la préfecture afin qu’elle annule cette décision. Lors de la grande rafle des étrangers de zone libre du 26 août 1942, les quatre membres de la famille Joffe sont sur les listes des personnes à arrêter par les gendarmes de la brigade de Nérac. M. Parent est-il de nouveau intervenu ? Quoi qu’il en soit, ils échappent à la déportation, mais ce répit n’est que de courte durée pour Kasriel Joffe? Le 20 février 1943, les gendarmes se présentent à son domicile et l’embarquent – 2000 hommes juifs étrangers âgés de 16 à 65 ans sont raflés dans toute la France en février 1943 à la demande des Allemands, en représailles à un attentat contre deux officiers à Paris. Emmené au centre de regroupement de la Couronne à Boé près d’Agen, il est conduit au camp de Gurs où il est interné à l’îlot F, dans la baraque n°7. Là encore, Mr Parent intervient et adresse plusieurs courriers au chef du camp de Gurs afin de faire libérer son employé. Il fournit tous les documents administratifs nécessaires (un certificat d’hébergement, un certificat de résidence et une attestation d’emploi) à la libération de Kasriel Joffe, libération qui a lieu le 25 mars 1943.

Le 9 septembre 1943, Kasriel Joffe est arrêté une nouvelle fois. Cette fois-ci, la rafle organisée par la préfecture a pour but d’envoyer les hommes juifs étrangers travailler au sein de l’organisation Todt. Rassemblés au camp de Noé en Haute-Garonne, ils rejoignent le GTE 513 de Muret, mais n’y restent que quelques jours : le 29 septembre, ils sont transférés au GTE 212 de Martigues et affectés à divers chantiers de l’organisation Todt. Il semble que Kasriel Joffe a été affecté au camp de Malaval dans les Bouches-du-Rhône. Le 11 mai 1944, sur ordre d’Aloïs Brunner, les Juifs de ce GTE sont emprisonnés à Marseille, puis envoyés à Drancy le 19 mai 1944. A son arrivée au camp de transit de la région parisienne, il déclare être de nationalité suédoise, nationalité exclue des déportations. Cela pourrait expliquer qu’il n’est pas déporté immédiatement ou dans les jours qui suivent (deux convois partent les 30 mai et 30 juin). C’est le 31 juillet 1944 que Kasriel Joffe est envoyé à Auschwitz-Birkenau par le convoi 77.

Joffe Kasriel Parent lettre.jpg
Joffe Kasriel photo

Contributeur(s)

Anatole Joffe, son fils.
Aucun commentaire

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?