Fradla LIPMANOWICZ

1926-1944 | Birth: | Arrest: | Residence: , ,

Fradla (Frida) LIPMANOWICZ

was born in Jedrezejov, Poland on December 10, 1926. She was fourth of seven siblings.

The family lived at n° 21 rue Bourg-Tibourg in the 4th district of Paris and escaped the roundup of the Vel ‘Hiv in July, 1942, which did not affect French Jews. The father, judging the situation dangerous, decided to send his two oldest sons, Bernard and Maurice, to the Free Zone, perhaps to prepare for the arrival of the rest of the family.

He contacted a smuggler, whom he went with his three eldest children, Bernard, Maurice, and their sister Frimet (Frimeta), to meet in a café in the 10th district. Alas, the smuggler was a scoundrel who, after pocketing the money for their passage, turned them over to the police who had been apprised. The father and his three children were arrested and, after passing through Drancy and Pithiviers, deported. None of them came back.

The mother and her remaining children — Frida, Simon, Georges and Ginette – stayed in the apartment on the rue Bourg-Tibourg. Bereft of resources Frida’s mother found work as a cleaning woman at the UGIF (General Union of the Israelites of France), which entitled her to an I.D. pass that protected her and her children from internment for the time being.

Frida, now the eldest, wanting to contribute to the family’s upkeep, decided to drop out of the Lycée Victor Hugo on the rue de Sévigné in Paris, where she was a student. Through her mother’s relations she was hired as a monitor for children left orphaned in the UGIF Center in Louveciennes.

In July, 1944 the Germans decided to arrest and deport all the children and their monitors in the UGIF centers around Paris. They were taken to Drancy, hauled off to the station, shut up in the horrible cattle cars and deported to an unknown destination.

Frida wrote letters in pencil on wastepaper and slipped them out through slits between the boards of the cattle cars. They were collected by railway workers (resistance activists?) and reached the surviving members of the family. These letters show that Frida didn’t know where the train was going.

The trip with no hygiene, no food, no drink, appallingly overcrowded, was to be followed by still worse, the hell of Auschwitz. As they got off the train, the monitors are said to have been told by a deportee of the Canada kommando (auxiliary work unit) to move away from the children they were holding by the hand. In vain. Either they didn’t listen or they didn’t understand. They were steered to the “showers”. They all stripped, old and young alike; the gas was released. Gassed and incinerated, children and monitors were reduced to ashes; there is nothing left but the memory we keep of them and eternal sorrow.

Bernard Frimet Maurice Frida Simon âge décroissant
drancy 27 07 44 recto
drancy 27 07 44 verso
Frida 16 ans
legitimation exterieur
legitimation interieur
lettre train recto
lettre train verso

Contributor(s)

Simon LIPPE

References

  • 1. Photo de Frida à 16 ans
  • 2. Photo des enfants par ordre d’âge décroissant, vers 1930, Bernard, l’aîné, puis Frimet et Maurice arrêtés avec leur père), Frida et Simon (seul survivant de la photo après la guerre).
  • 3. Carte de légitimation de l’UGIF pour la mère de Frida, intérieur et extérieur
  • 4. Lettre de Frida depuis Drancy, datée du 27 juillet 1944, recto et verso
  • 5. Lettre (la seconde) glissée par Frida à la dérobée hors du train, avec mention de l’adresse d’une voisine et qui, comme la première, atteindra sa famille
2 Comments
  1. Dotan Shapiro 4 years ago

    Hello,
    I’m looking to know what happened to Simon lipmanowicz, he was a good freind of the grandfather of my girlfriend.
    Thank you for the response,
    Dotan Shapiro.

  2. Serge Jacubert 4 years ago

    Hello Dotan, I am happy that the connection with Simon was made possible through the Convoi 77 link. All the best for you and those dear to you. For Convoi 77, Serge Jacubert

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Fradla LIPMANOWICZ

1926-1944 | Naissance: | Arrestation: | Résidence: , ,

Fradla (Frida) LIPMANOWICZ naît à Jedrezejov,  Pologne, le 10 décembre 1926. Elle est la quatrième d’une fratrie de sept enfants.

La famille habite au 21, rue Bourg Tibourg, dans le 4° arrondissement de Paris et n’est pas touchée par la rafle du Vel’ d’Hiv’ de juillet 1942, qui ne concernait pas les Juifs Français. Le père de famille, jugeant la situation périlleuse, décide que les deux aînés, Bernard et Maurice, se rendent en « zone libre », peut-être pour qu’ils y préparent la venue du reste de la famille.

Il prend contact avec un « passeur ». Il se rend au rendez-vous avec ce passeur, avec ses trois enfants aînés, Bernard, Maurice et leur sœur Frimet (Frimeta), dans un café du 10° arrondissement. Hélas, le passeur était une crapule et, après qu’il eût pris l’argent du passage, il les remit à la police qu’il avait prévenue.  Le père de famille et ses trois enfants sont arrêtés et, après un passage par Drancy et Pithiviers, ils sont déportés. Aucun n’est revenu.

La mère, ses enfants, Frida, Simon, Georges et Ginette restent dans l’appartement de la rue Bourg Tibourg. Dépourvue de ressources, la mère de Frida trouve un travail de femme de ménage à l’UGIF, ce qui lui permet d’avoir une carte de légitimation qui la protège, elle et ses enfants, contre tout internement, à ce moment.

Frida, l’aînée, soucieuse de participer à l’entretien de la famille, décide d’abandonner ses études au lycée Victor Hugo, rue de Sévigné à Paris. Par l’intermédiaire de sa mère, elle est engagée comme monitrice d’enfants isolés dans la maison de l’UGIF à Louveciennes.

En juillet 1944, les Allemands décident d’arrêter et de déporter tous les enfants et leurs monitrices dans les centres de l’UGIF autour de Paris. Ils sont emmenés à Drancy, convoyés à la gare, enfermés dans ces horribles wagons à bestiaux et déportés vers une destination inconnue.

Frida écrit des lettres, au crayon, sur des papiers de fortune et les glisse au dehors, par des interstices entre les planches du wagon, et qui sont recueillies par des cheminots (résistants ?) et qui parviendront jusqu’à la famille survivante. De ces lettres, il apparaît que Frida ignorait la destination du train.

Le voyage, sans hygiène, sans nourriture, ni boisson, dans une promiscuité épouvantable allait être suivi de pire encore, l’enfer d’Auschwitz. A la descente des wagons, un déporté du kommando Canada aurait dit aux monitrices de s’éloigner des enfants qu’elles tenaient par la main, en vain. Elles ne l’ont pas écouté  ou compris. Elles ont été dirigées vers « les douches ». Tout le monde s’est déshabillé, grands et petits, les gaz ont été envoyés. Gazés et brûlés, monitrices et enfants ont été réduits en cendres, il ne reste d’eux que le souvenir que nous en gardons et un chagrin éternel.

Bernard Frimet Maurice Frida Simon âge décroissant
Drancy 27 07 44 recto
Drancy 27 07 44 verso
Frida 16 ans
legitimation exterieur
legitimation interieur
lettre train recto
lettre train verso

Contributeur(s)

Simon LIPPE

References

  • 1. Photo de Frida à 16 ans
  • 2. Photo des enfants par ordre d’âge décroissant, vers 1930, Bernard, l’aîné, puis Frimet et Maurice arrêtés avec leur père), Frida et Simon (seul survivant de la photo après la guerre).
  • 3. Carte de légitimation de l’UGIF pour la mère de Frida, intérieur et extérieur
  • 4. Lettre de Frida depuis Drancy, datée du 27 juillet 1944, recto et verso
  • 5. Lettre (la seconde) glissée par Frida à la dérobée hors du train, avec mention de l’adresse d’une voisine et qui, comme la première, atteindra sa famille
2 commentaires
  1. Dotan Shapiro 3 années ago

    Hello,
    I’m looking to know what happened to Simon lipmanowicz, he was a good freind of the grandfather of my girlfriend.
    Thank you for the response,
    Dotan Shapiro.

  2. Serge Jacubert 2 années ago

    Hello Dotan, I am happy that the connection with Simon was made possible through the Convoi 77 link. All the best for you and those dear to you. For Convoi 77, Serge Jacubert

Répondre

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

hébergement Umazuma - OVH

Se connecter

Oubli de mot de passe ?